Eight neurology residents and seven fellows graduate in campus ceremony

The Department of Neurology and Neurotherapeutics at UT Southwestern held a graduation ceremony on June 8, 2013.

Eight residents and seven fellows were recognized for completing their training.

Pediatric Neurology Program
Pediatric Neurology Program

What's next?

Several fellows have joined faculty at academic institutions including UT Southwestern and the University of Oklahoma.

James Battiste, M.D., Ph.D. – Neuro-oncology faculty, University of Oklahoma

Priyanka Chaudhry, M.D. – Headache faculty, UTSW

Steve Figueroa, M.D. – Neurocritical care faculty, UTSW

Cherie Herren, M.D. – Pediatric neurology faculty, University of Oklahoma

Bappaditya Ray, M.D. – Neurocritical care faculty, University of Oklahoma

Lei Wang, M.D. – Faculty, VA Medical Center in San Antonio

Rebecca Whiddon, M.D. – Private practice, movement disorders in Baton Rouge, LA

Many of our residents continue their training with fellowships after graduation.

Asra Akbar, M.D. - Clinical neurophysiology fellowship, UTSW

Marisara Dieppa, M.D. - Clinical neurophysiology fellowship, UTSW

Justin Jordan, M.D. - Neuro-oncology fellowship, Mass. General/Harvard/Dana Farber Cancer Center

Hamid Kadiwala, M.D. - Clinical neurophysiology fellowship, Methodist Hospital, Houston

Svjetlana Miocinovic, M.D., Ph.D. - Movement disorders fellowship, UTSW

Jorge Munoz, M.D. - Clinical neurophysiology fellowship, UTSW

Andrew Nik, M.D. - Vascular neurology fellowship, UTSW

Digvijaya Navalkele, M.D. - Vascular neurology fellowship, UT Houston

Award Recipients

Awards are given to outstanding residents and fellows.

Resident Teaching Award (Adult): Andrew Nik, M.D.

Resident Teaching Award (Pedi): Hamid Kadiwala, M.D.

TEVA Award - 1st Place: Andrew Nik, M.D.

TEVA Award - 2nd Place: Zakraus Mahdavi, M.D.

Rosenberg Award: Rebecca Whiddon, M.D.

Unwin Award: Svjetlana Miocinovic, M.D., Ph.D.

Rivera/Weisberg Award - 1st Place: Justin Jordan, M.D.

Rivera/Weisberg Award - 2nd Place: Julio Rojas-Martinez, M.D., Ph.D.

Fred Baskin Award: Isaac Marin-Valencia, M.D.

Stephen Damm Neuro-Oncology Award: Marisara Dieppa, M.D..