Skip to Main

Social Organizations

Black Students of Health Professions

Founded in 2021, the Black Students of Health Professions was established to foster an environment designed to enrich and promote the excellence of Black and African American students in the School of Health Professions. Our goal is to increase the prevalence of Black and African American students within the classroom, as well as in the work force.

Travis Cook Travis.Cook@utsouthwestern.edu
Jakiron Sheffield-Jones Jakiron.Sheffield-Jones@utsouthwestern.edu

FOCUS – Clinical Psychology Student Organization

The Faculty and Student Organization of Clinical Psychology was established in fall 2006 to promote student and faculty collaboration and camaraderie through community service, fellowship, and alumni outreach.

Alexandra Moorehead Alexandra.Moorehead@utsouthwestern.edu
Ashlyn Parides Ashlyn.Parides@utsouthwestern.edu

Heartstrings Orchestra

The Heartstrings was formed to provide a musical outlet for instrumentalists. Although this is a contemporary, pop music-oriented string orchestra, classical repertoire is explored as well. We perform for school-wide events such as multicultural weekend and have exciting collaborations with the Lymph Notes and other organizations.

Conan Juan Conan.Juan@utsouthwestern.edu
Giselle Peng Giselle.Peng@utsouthwestern.edu

Latinxs in Health Professions

Founded in fall 2021, Latinxs in Health Professions will provide an environment to unite diverse students with Latinx/Hispanic backgrounds and allies within the School of Health Professions. We aim to emphasize the importance of representation in health care fields and advocate for the Latinx/Hispanic student body.

Janet Saenz janet.saenz@utsouthwestern.edu
Angie Garcia angie.garcia@utsouthwestern.edu

Lymph Notes

Founded in 2010, we are the Lymph Notes, the premier a cappella group at UTSW! We are composed of members of the UTSW community from all campuses, including medical students, graduate students, health professions students, postdocs, and more. Our fun, friendly atmosphere offers a respite from the pressures of higher education while fostering a greater arts presence on campus. We are proud to perform at a variety of campus events, including Medical School interviews, the Multicultural Show, and department holiday parties. We also contribute to the greater Dallas community by performing at local hospitals. Come sing with the Lymph Notes and feed your musical passion!

Tyler Zapata tyler.zapata@utsouthwestern.edu

M-Cats Jazz Group

To provide a venue for the musical expression of ideas and feelings in an organized and nonjudgmental environment. The M-Cats jazz group is open to all students, faculty, and staff. All skill levels are welcome. The M-Cats Jazz Group is comprised of students, researchers, and staff. Although we play old school jazz, we also play some fusion and Latin jazz. Members maintain busy schedules but come together to rehearse for upcoming gigs. The defining characteristic of the M-Cat’s music is the joy of performing together in the perpetual push to grow creatively. Our sound is constantly changing as band members come and go while they progress through their education and careers at UTSW.

Banahene Glover Banahene.Glover@utsouthwestern.edu
Jenny Maique Jenny.Maiquez@utsouthwestern.edu

Non-Traditional Student Organization

The Non-traditional Student Organization aims to support non-traditional students as they transition to medical school and provide a community where they can share their diverse backgrounds and serve as a resource to navigate the challenges of medical school while balancing outside obligations.

Jake Qurashi Jake.Qurashi@utsouthwestern.edu
Perpetuah Sherman Perpetuah.Sherman@utsouthwestern.edu

Note-o-chords

The Note-o-chords represents a network of musicians of all types in the UT Southwestern community. Our goal is to facilitate organization of recreational musical groups as well as public performances on campus and elsewhere. In the academic year 2014-2015 members performed at the MS1 Anatomy Vigil, Clements University Hospital opening events, the St. Basil Catholic Society Annual Winter Concert, and Celebration of Cultures (Mariachi and Tango groups). Members have also organized small groups, including multiple chamber groups and a popular music group. We hope to expand performance and musical service opportunities, and we encourage musicians on campus to contact us with their ideas.

Sydney Pinch Sydney.Pinch@utsouthwestern.edu
Jacob Khoury jacob.khoury@utsouthwestern.edu

Pondering PowerPoints

Founded in fall 2020, Pondering PowerPoints is a club formed to cultivate presentation skills to peers in a fun and encouraging environment. Presentations will be held once every other week by a peer in the club. The topic of the presentation is completely up to the presenter, but we ask that it is NOT medical. By exposing our peers to topics outside of medicine, we hope to foster more well rounded physicians. Questions after the presentation are encouraged.

Hannah Ramsaywak Hannah.Ramsaywak@utsouthwestern.edu

Project Momentum (PM)

We aim to increase access to a healthy life for justice-involved youth in greater Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex through health education sessions and one-on-one peer mentoring, as well as fostering a greater sense of community and support among adolescents who share experiences of being involved with the justice system.

Maishara Muquith maishara.muquith@gmail.com
Harin Lee harin.lee@gmail.com

SHPride

UTSW SHPride is an organization that was created to foster fellowship between members and allies of the LGBTQ+ community within the School of Health Professions. Members commit themselves to maintain a safe space for all individuals within the organization. With a very diverse student population within the School of Health Professions, this organization aims to represent and reaffirm students within the LGBTQ+ community.

Taylor Harris Taylor.Harris@gmail.com

Southwestern Life Support

Southwestern Life is a support organization for the spouses, significant others, and families of UT Southwestern students and is sponsored by the Faculty Women’s Auxiliary. The club sponsors several social activities throughout the year. Our main objective is to provide the social support and camaraderie that can be so beneficial during these years of training.

Grace Efern graceefern@gmail.com
Garrett Whitney Garrett.whitney12@gmail.com

Stitch

Founded in fall 2021, the purpose of this organization is to connect students, faculty, and staff with other individuals that enjoy fiber arts (knitting, crochet, cross stitch, embroidery, etc.)

Sarah Dolphin Sarah.Dolphin@utsouthwestern.edu
Ariana Weiss Ariana.Weiss@utsouthwestern.edu