Skip to Main

International / Cultural Organizations

The Association of African-American Scientists (TAAAS)

The Association of African-American Scientists is a society committed to supporting the success of African-American scientists at UT Southwestern through career development, recruitment and retention efforts, and community outreach endeavors.

Townsend Smith Townsend.Smith@utsouthwestern.edu
Aleya Shedd Aleya.Shedd@utsouthwestern.edu

Association of Native American Medical Students

Founded in 2001, the Association of Native American Medical Students (ANAMS) is a student organization representing Native American graduates, health professionals, and students throughout the U.S. and Canada. Our goals include providing support and resources for all Native Americans currently enrolled in various allied health professions schools.

Dylan Beams Dylan.Beams@utsouthwestern.edu
Mikayla Roof Mikayla.Roof@utsouthwestern.edu

Chinese Student and Scholar Association (CSSA)

The goals of this organization are to provide help and entertainment to Chinese students and scholars and to enhance connections among them. The majority of its members are Chinese students and scholars from mainland China. However, the organization and most of the activities are open to all students.

Di Yang Di.Yang@utsouthwestern.edu
Cong Xing Cong.Xing@utsouthwestern.edu

Healing Hands for Guatemala

Spring Break service trip to Antigua – we provide health care to a rural community in the area of Antigua, Guatemala.

Abeer Abdelrahim Abeer.Abdelrahim@utsouthwestern.edu
Zoha Momin Zoha.Momin@utsouthwestern.edu

Home and Abroad

Founded in fall 2015, Home and Abroad is an annual global health publication by medical students at UT Southwestern. It was established to share ideas, inform discussions, and inspire action on issues of global health importance. Our mission is to provide a varied perspective on global health endeavors, initiatives, and achievements by the student body, faculty, and friends and to promote ideas, innovations, and advancements with medical applications locally and globally. Our goal is to become the premier literary forum utilizing multidisciplinary approaches to address challenges in global medicine by providing our readers insightful and accurate information on pertinent global health topics.

Parker Kenee Parker.Kenee@utsouthwestern.edu
Koshma Eswaramoorthy Koshma.Eswaramoorthy@utsouthwestern.edu

Korean American Medical Student Association – KAMSA

KAMSA is an organization of Korean medical students seeking to enhance the fellowship of its members through promoting leadership and facilitating networking opportunities. Through community outreach, and mentorship, KAMSA aims to foster the growth of aspiring pre-medical students throughout Texas as well.

Clare Keum Heejo.Keum@utsouthwestern.edu
Michelle Lee Michelle.Lee@utsouthwestern.edu 

Latino Medical Student Association (LMSA)

The Latino Medical Student Association at UT Southwestern strives to unify all Latino/medical students while addressing health issues pertinent to the Hispanic population. By encouraging unity among our members, LMSA aims to foster a spirit of “Mi Familia” through volunteer opportunities, social outlets, and assistance in the successful completion of a medical education. We also strive to unify ourselves with all student populations on campus, promoting the free exchange of ideas, culture, and compassion. As part of our mission statement to improve cultural diversity in the field of medicine, LMSA actively recruits Latino applicants to UT Southwestern while encouraging young minorities to pursue higher learning institutions.

Miranda Flores Miranda.Flores@utsouthwestern.edu
Moises Narvaez Moises.Narvaez@utsouthwestern.edu

Multicultural Awareness Committee

Founded in 1999, the Committee is dedicated to presenting a Multicultural Awareness Week. The program is designed to promote awareness and sensitivity of various cultures in the context of medicine and medicine education. The week is topped off with the “Celebration of Cultures” – a food and dance extravaganza.

Student Life StudentLife@utsouthwestern.edu

Society for the Advancement of Chicano/Hispanic and Native Americans in Sciences (SACNAS)

SACNAS at UTSW is an inclusive organization dedicated to fostering the success of Hispanic/Latine and Native Americans in the sciences. SACNAS facilitates opportunities to advance the professional and personal development of its members through the participation in activities that embody our core principles of service, diversity, and inclusivity. As a chapter, we are open to all UTSW students, post-docs, and faculty with an interest in promoting equal access to STEM education and validation to underrepresented groups.

Lupita Rios Lupita.Rios@utsouthwestern.edu
Carlos Orozco Carlos.Orozco@utsouthwestern.edu

South Asian Medical Student Association (SAMSA)

Founded in 1999, SAMSA is a social organization formed to address issues that concern South Asians as physicians, create camaraderie among medical students at UT Southwestern, and educate fellow colleagues about South Asian culture. Our goals are met through monthly meetings and socials, participation in school events, and volunteerism in the community.

Sukul Mittal Sukul.Mittal@utsouthwestern.edu
Veena Peraka Veena.Peraka@utsouthwestern.edu

Student National Medical Association (SNMA)

SNMA is committed to improving medical care for all people of color by strengthening the pipeline of minority students that consider and prepare for medical and scientific careers. Its community mentoring programs provide science appreciation and education, mentoring, as well as academic enrichment to elementary, middle, high school, and college students interested in pursuing health-related careers. Working through local chapters, SNMA is proud to organize and sponsor local pipeline programs that directly serve minority students at several levels of education: the Minority Association of Pre-medical Students (MAPS), the Health Professions Recruitment and Exposure Program (HPREP), and the Youth Science Enrichment Program (YSEP). Within medical schools, SNMA chapters provide academic preparation, recruitment, and retention programming in efforts to diversify the face of medicine and create clinically excellent and socially conscious physicians.

Victoria Peters Victoria.Peters@utsouthwestern.edu
Ayomide Osunjimi Ayomide.Osunjimi@utsouthwestern.edu

Taiwanese Student Association (TSA)

Founded in spring 2013 as a social organization to bring people of Taiwanese origin together, TSA aims to assist recruitment of new Taiwanese students and to help newcomers to settle down in Dallas. Several social events are hosted throughout the year to bring entertainment to the members and to enhance connections among individuals who are interested in Taiwanese culture.

Haicheng Huang Haicheng.Huang@utsouthwestern.edu
Yu-Chung Pien Yu-Chung.pien@utsouthwestern.edu

Turkish Student Association

The main objective of the TSA, founded in fall 2003, is to bring together individuals with interest in the Turkish culture at UT Southwestern, provide cultural exchange, and organize social and cultural activities for a better understanding of the Turkish culture. TSA cooperates with other campus organizations to contribute to intellectual understanding and the diversity initiative. TSA seeks to help incoming students adapt to the lifestyle and culture of the United States.

Gupse Otuzoglu Gupse.Otuzoglu@utsouthwestern.edu
Helin Hocaoglu Helin.Hocaoglu@utsouthwestern.edu