International / Cultural Organizations

Association for African-American Scientists (AAAS)

The Association of African-American Scientists is a society committed to supporting the success of African-American scientists at UT Southwestern through career development, recruitment and retention efforts, and community outreach endeavors.

Aarin Jones Aarin.Jones@utsouthwestern.edu
Michael Cotton Michael.Cotton@utsouthwestern.edu

Chinese Student and Scholar Association (CSSA)

The goals of this organization are to provide help and entertainment to Chinese students and scholars and to enhance connections among them. The majority of its members are Chinese students and scholars from mainland China. However, the organization and most of the activities are open to all students. 

Dailu Chen Dailu.Chen@utsouthwestern.edu
Rui Chem Rui.Chen@utsouthwestern.edu

Home and Abroad

Founded in fall 2015, Home and Abroad is an annual global health publication by medical students at UT Southwestern. It was established to share ideas, inform discussions, and inspire action on issues of global health importance. Our mission is to provide a varied perspective on global health endeavors, initiatives, and achievements by the student body, faculty, and friends and to promote ideas, innovations, and advancements with medical applications locally and globally. Our goal is to become the premier literary forum utilizing multidisciplinary approaches to address challenges in global medicine by providing our readers insightful and accurate information on pertinent global health topics.

Sabiha Hussain Sabiha.Hussain@utsouthwestern.edu
Sarah Yuen sarah.yuen@utsouthwestern.edu

Latino Medical Student Association (LMSA)

The Latino Medical Student Association at UT Southwestern strives to unify all Latino/medical students while addressing health issues pertinent to the Hispanic population. By encouraging unity among our members, LMSA aims to foster a spirit of “Mi Familia” through volunteer opportunities, social outlets, and assistance in the successful completion of a medical education. We also strive to unify ourselves with all student populations on campus, promoting the free exchange of ideas, culture, and compassion. As part of our mission statement to improve cultural diversity in the field of medicine, LMSA actively recruits Latino applicants to UT Southwestern while encouraging young minorities to pursue higher learning institutions.

Jose Francisco Calva-Moreno josefrancisco.calva-moreno@utsouthwestern.edu
Sandra Chavez-Carmona sandra.chavez-carmona@utsouthwestern.edu

Multicultural Awareness Committee

Founded in 1999, the Committee is dedicated to presenting a Multicultural Awareness Week. The program is designed to promote awareness and sensitivity of various cultures in the context of medicine and medicine education. The week is topped off with the “Celebration of Cultures” – a food and dance extravaganza.

Sam Bhattacharyya samadrita.bhattacharyya@utsouthwestern.edu
Kinjal Mehta kinjal.mehta@utsouthwestern.edu

Society for the Advancement of Chicano/Hispanic and Native Americans in Sciences (SACNAS)

SACNAS is a society of scientists dedicated to fostering the success of Hispanic/Chicano and Native American scientists – from college students to professionals – to attain advanced degrees, careers, and positions of leadership in science.

Matthew Mendoza Matthew.Mendoza@utsouthwestern.edu
Zachary Gallegos zachary.gallegos@utsouthwestern.edu

South Asian Medical Student Association (SAMSA)

Founded in 1999, SAMSA is a social organization formed to address issues that concern South Asians as physicians, create camaraderie among medical students at UT Southwestern, and educate fellow colleagues about South Asian culture. Our goals are met through monthly meetings and socials, participation in school events, and volunteerism in the community.

Naomi Freeman naomi.freeman@utsouthwestern.edu
Vidya Menon vidya.menon@utsouthwestern.edu

Student National Medical Association (SNMA)

SNMA is committed to improving medical care for all people of color by increasing the pipeline of students of color that consider and prepare for medical and scientific careers. Its community mentoring programs provide science appreciation and education, mentoring, and academic enrichment to elementary, junior high, high school, and college students interested in pursuing health-related careers. Working through local chapters, SNMA is proud to organize and sponsor local pipeline programs that directly serve minority students at several levels of education: the Minority Association of Pre-medical Students (MAPS), the Health Professions Recruitment and Exposure Program (HPREP), and the Youth Science Enrichment Program (YSEP). Within medical school, SNMA chapters provide academic preparation, recruitment, and retention programming in order to ensure the pipeline to medicine is supported.

Zach Christian zachary.christian@utsouthwestern.edu
Adrienne Walker adrienne.walker@utsouthwestern.edu

Taiwanese Student Association (TSA)

Founded in spring 2013 as a social organization to bring people of Taiwanese origin together, TSA aims to assist recruitment of new Taiwanese students and to help newcomers to settle down in Dallas. Several social events are hosted throughout the year to bring entertainment to the members and to enhance connections among individuals who are interested in Taiwanese culture.

I-Mei Liao I-Mei.Liao@utsouthwestern.edu
Yuh-Tarng Chem Yuh-Tarng.Chen@utsouthwestern.edu

Turkish Student Association

The main objective of the TSA, founded in fall 2003, is to bring together individuals with interest in the Turkish culture at UT Southwestern, provide cultural exchange, and organize social and cultural activities for a better understanding of the Turkish culture. TSA cooperates with other campus organizations to contribute to intellectual understanding and the diversity initiative. TSA seeks to help incoming students adapt to the lifestyle and culture of the United States.

Oguz Tuncay Islam.Tuncay@utsouthwestern.edu
Fatma Coskun Fatma.Coskun@utsouthwestern.edu