Religious Organizations

Catholic Society of St. Basil the Great (St. Basil Society)

Founded in 2008, the St. Basil Society sponsors academic discussions, volunteer service projects, social gatherings, and religious events. Our most popular events are the twice monthly lunch meetings, where a speaker discusses anything from bioethics to history, theology to literature. Although some events are particularly Catholic-Christian in focus, all students and faculty are invited. Our patron is St. Basil the Great, who established the world’s first public hospital.

Maria Box maria.box@utsouthwestern.edu
Elizabeth Polsdofer Elizabeth.Polsdofer@utsouthwestern.edu

Christian Students Association

Founded in 1992, Christian Students is a group of believers in Christ from various backgrounds who love the Lord Jesus Christ and find great joy and purpose in pursuing Him. God’s word charges us to “pursue righteousness, faith, love, peace, with those who call on the Lord out of a pure heart” (2 Timothy 2:22b). The members of the Christian Students club hold the faith that is common to all believers (Titus 1:4; Jude 3).

Jenny Bachand Jennifer.Bachand@utsouthwestern.edu
Timothy Lin timothy.lin@utsouthwestern.edu

Islamic Medical Association (IMA)

Founded in fall 2000, the mission of IMA is to provide a forum and resources for future Muslim physicians and other health care professionals, to promote a greater awareness of Islamic medical ethics and values among Muslims and the community at large, to provide humanitarian and medical relief, and to be an advocate in health care policy.

Rana Yazdani rana.yazdani@utsouthwestern.edu
Waqas Haque waquas.haque@utsouthwestern.edu

Jewish Student Association

The Jewish Student Association is open to all students, faculty, and staff at the University who seek a Jewish experience while at UT Southwestern. The JSA explores cultural, religious, social, and even the fun and funny aspects of Judaism as it connects with health and science students and professionals.

Ruth Abrams Ruth.Abrams@utsothwestern.edu
Georgia Shelton georgia.shelton@utsouthwestern.edu

Latter-day Saint Student Association (LDSSA)

The LDSSA consists primarily of members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. The group hosts weekly Institute of Religion classes, providing an opportunity for spiritual learning, encouragement, and fellowship. It also welcomes those who are not members of the Church of Jesus Christ to join.

Emily Magallanes emily.magallanes@utsouthwestern.edu
Bryant Dixon bryant.dixon@utsouthwestern.edu

Southwestern Christian Fellowship (SCF)

SCF is an organization co-sponsored by the Baptist Student Ministry (BSM) and the Christian Medical/Dental Association (CMDA). Together, they help SCF meet the spiritual needs of Christian students at UT Southwestern. There are several weekly activities, most notably, the Christian Fellowship Luncheon every Monday at noon; food is provided and speakers range from ministers and seminary students to physicians on the faculty. Additionally, SCF offers several weekly opportunities for Bible studies, praise, and volunteer outreaches to serve the disadvantaged in the Dallas area. The group’s big event is a spring break medical mission trip to El Paso, where medical students, PA and PT students, nurses, physicians, and translators go to missionary clinics to serve people in need and witness about Christ.

Rohit George Rohit.George@utsouthwestern.edu
Christine Hernandez-Cavender Christine.Cavender@utsouthwestern.edu