Recreational Organizations

Badminton Club

The club is a student organization dedicated to promoting the sport of badminton, developing members’ skills, and providing a competitive and fun playing environment. We welcome students, faculty, and staff players of all skill levels. The goal of the club is to bring together all badminton players at UT Southwestern by offering a healthy environment for competitive badminton and to clear the misconception of badminton as a typical “American backyard game.” Our club meets 4-8 p.m. Saturdays at the Student Center.

Fei Wang Fei.Wang@utsouthwestern.edu
Xiaochen Bai xiaochen.bai@utsouthwestern.edu

Bike Club

The club organizes bicycle rides around Dallas for students, staff, and faculty who are interested in biking. All types of riders are welcome. Members are encouraged to participate in local rides (e.g.,Tour de Dallas). The club promotes biking as a means to exercise, stay active, and even as a mode of transportation.

Erin Vigil Erin.Vigil@utsouthwestern.edu
Vasily Sysoev Vasily.Sysoev@utsouthwestern.edu

Climbing Club

The mission of the Climbing Club is to foster a community of students, staff, and faculty who are interested in rock climbing and the outdoors. We aim to support and motivate climbers of all skill levels through climbing sessions at local gyms and outdoors, and plan to host talks and workshops that integrate climbing and health. Our club welcomes people of any race, ethnicity, religion, national origin, gender identity, gender expression, political affiliation, sexual orientation, and eligible age or disability status. We hope to provide a fun environment to meet new people and learn about the world of climbing!

Emily Nip Emily.Nip@utsouthwestern.edu
Hector Chaires Hector.Chaires@utsouthwestern.edu

Dartos Soccer Club

Dartos is the men’s soccer team at UT Southwestern. In the fall and spring, we play in the Dallas Soccer Alliance League. Commitment is limited to weekly games on Sunday mornings and afternoons. In the off season we play indoor (sometimes). The team comprises fun-loving and competitive students. Please reach out to team representatives to try-out for a spot on the team.

Mauricio Valdez Mauricio.Valdez@utsouthwestern.edu
Angel Valencia Angel.Valencia@utsouthwestern.edu

Disc Golf Club

Dartos is the men’s soccer team at UT Southwestern. In the fall and spring, we play in the Dallas Soccer Alliance League. Commitment is limited to weekly games on Sunday mornings and afternoons. In the off season we play indoor (sometimes). The team comprises fun-loving and competitive students. Please reach out to team representatives to try-out for a spot on the team.

Tyler Cepica Tyler.Cepica@utsouthwestern.edu
Kyle Langston Kyle.Langston@utsouthwestern.edu

Golf Association

Founded in summer 2020 the Golf Association strives to bring together students, residents, and faculty to promote an informal environment for career coaching and overall academic success via the shared love for the game of golf.

Graham Andre Graham.Andre@utsouthwestern.edu
David Edwards David.Edwards@utsouthwestern.edu

Mountain Bike Club

Founded in spring 2021, the goal of this organization is to connect people at UT Southwestern who love to mountain bike and get together and ride on trails around DFW.

Austin Cottam Austin.Cottam@utsouthwestern.edu
Seth Bohman Seth.Bohman@utsouthwestern.edu

Running Club

The Running Club’s mission is to bring people with a passion for running together to move their lives in a positive direction. We will foster support, motivation, and inclusion for all those at UT Southwestern at any level of running or walking. Our goal is to grow through sharing our experiences and learning from others in order to maintain wellness that we can implement in our lives as future health care workers.

Whitney Stuard Whitney.Stuard@utsouthwestern.edu

Shred for Med

Founded in fall 2020, Shred for Med aims to bring together UT Southwestern students, residents, and faculty interested in weightlifting and proper use of gym equipment. We hope to provide a healthy way to destress, relax, and meet new people.

Jeffrey Chapman Jeffrey.Chapman@utsouthwestern.edu
Shyon Parsa Shyon.Parsa@utsouthwestern.edu

Table Tennis Club

Our organization’s goal is to promote wellness through the sport of table tennis. We all have had great experiences with the sport in the past and want to share this unique pastime with others.

Grayden Cook Grayden.Cook@utsouthwestern.edu

Taekwondo

Taekwondo is a Korean martial art known for its rapid kicking techniques and is one of the most popular martial arts in the world, spanning over 100 countries with more than 30 million practitioners. At UT Southwestern, classes are held every week in the Bryan Williams, M.D. Student Center’s multipurpose room, and beginners are more than encouraged to join. No prior martial arts experience is needed. Our classes are great opportunities to get a good workout and meet new people. Safety will always take priority, and you are always welcome to just come and watch.

Currently Inactive  

Tennis Club

The goal of the Tennis Club is to offer opportunities for members of the UTSW community to play tennis together. We organize weekly meetings for members to rally, do drills, or play matches. All skill levels are welcome!

Julia Zaytsev Julia.Zaytsev@utsouthwestern.edu
Charlotte Greif Charlotte.Greif@utsouthwestern.edu

Wimbledon Pickleball Club

Wimbledon Pickleball Club aims to bring together UTSW students, residents, and faculty interested in the pickleball community. By so doing we hope to provide UTSW the opportunity to connect with not just a new sport, but a new frontier. A frontier that requires the perfect blend of strategy, hand-eye coordination, and a competitive fire that rages within. Join today!

Shyon Parsa Shyon.Parsa@utsouthwestern.edu
Jeffrey Chapman Jeffrey.Chapman@utsouthwestern.edu