Recreational Organizations

Badminton Club

The club is a student organization dedicated to promoting the sport of badminton, developing members’ skills, and providing a competitive and fun playing environment. We welcome students, faculty, and staff players of all skill levels. The goal of the club is to bring together all badminton players at UT Southwestern by offering a healthy environment for competitive badminton and to clear the misconception of badminton as a typical “American backyard game.” Our club meets 4-8 p.m. Saturdays at the Student Center.

Fei Wang Fei.Wang@utsouthwestern.edu
Qiang Cheng qiang.cheng@utsouthwestern.edu

Bike Club

The club organizes bicycle rides around Dallas for students, staff, and faculty who are interested in biking. All types of riders are welcome. Members are encouraged to participate in local rides (e.g.,Tour de Dallas). The club promotes biking as a means to exercise, stay active, and even as a mode of transportation.

Neel Bhan neel.bhan@utsouthwestern.edu
Theresa Pohikamp Theresa.Pohlkamp@utsouthwestern.edu

Dartos Soccer Club

Dartos is the UT Southwestern men’s soccer team. In the fall and spring, we play in the second division of the North Texas Premier Soccer Association. Commitment is limited to weekly games on Sunday mornings and afternoons. In the offseason we play indoor (sometimes). The team comprises fun-loving and competitive students. Tryouts are hosted during the first week of classes.

Daniel Gelvez Daniel.Gelvez@utsouthwestern.edu
Jacob Stevens Jacob.Stevens@utsouthwestern.edu

Gymnastics Club

Established to promote recreational and competitive gymnastics, the club competes at local and state meets with the Texas Gymnastics Conference and competes nationally with the NAIGC.

Zachary Bennett zachary.bennett@utsouthwestern.edu

M-Cats Jazz Group

Created to provide a venue for the musical expression of ideas and feelings in an organized and nonjudgmental environment, the M-Cats Jazz Group is open to all students and staff. All skill levels are welcome.

Austin Moore Austin.Moore@utsouthwestern.edu
Rudy Rodriguez Rudy.Rodriguez@utsouthwestern.edu

 

Pokemon Go Club (POGO)

The vision of the Pokémon Go Club is to be the very best. Its mission is to establish a fun environment for UTSW students, residents, faculty, and staff to meet, catch Pokémon together, and engage with the local community. The club aims to expand the Pokémon Go community on campus and beyond, encourage healthy exercise, and provide a platform for universitywide interaction. To accomplish these goals, the club hosts a variety of events open to everyone, including regular teaching sessions to new trainers on tips and strategies, daily raid events on campus every weekday, monthly trips to parks/downtown, organized weekend get-togethers, and collaborations with the community DallasPoGo Club for meetups.

Jennifer Liu jennifer.liu@utsouthwestern.edu
Emily Huang Emily.Huang1@utsouthwestern.edu

Taekwondo

Taekwondo is a Korean martial art known for its rapid kicking techniques and is one of the most popular martial arts in the world, spanning over 100 countries with more than 30 million practitioners. At UT Southwestern, classes are held every week in the Bryan Williams, M.D. Student Center’s multipurpose room, and beginners are more than encouraged to join. No prior martial arts experience is needed. Our classes are great opportunities to get a good workout and meet new people. Safety will always take priority, and you are always welcome to just come and watch.

Matthew Tran Matthew.Tran@utsouthwestern.edu
Larry Huynh Larry.Huynha@utsouthwestern.edu