Skip to Main

Recreational Organizations

Badminton Club

The club is a student organization dedicated to promoting the sport of badminton, developing members’ skills, and providing a competitive and fun playing environment. We welcome students, faculty, and staff players of all skill levels. The goal of the club is to bring together all badminton players at UT Southwestern by offering a healthy environment for competitive badminton and to clear the misconception of badminton as a typical “American backyard game.” Our club meets 4-8 p.m. Saturdays at the Student Center.

Fei Wang Fei.Wang@utsouthwestern.edu
Xiaochen Bai xiaochen.bai@utsouthwestern.edu

Bike Club

The club organizes bicycle rides around Dallas for students, staff, and faculty who are interested in biking. All types of riders are welcome. Members are encouraged to participate in local rides (e.g.,Tour de Dallas). The club promotes biking as a means to exercise, stay active, and even as a mode of transportation.

Erin Vigil Erin.Vigil@utsouthwestern.edu
Vasily Sysoev Vasily.Sysoev@utsouthwestern.edu

Chess Club

TThe Chess Club's mission is to foster a community of UT Southwestern students, faculty, and staff who enjoy playing and improving at chess. We hope to attract players of all skill levels to enjoy and learn more about the eh games. Beginners and experts alkie are welcome. We aim to participate in both in-person over the board chess, as well as virtual chess as our member’s desire.

Jared Neeley Jared.Neeley@utsouthwestern.edu
Blaine Oldham Blaine.Oldham@utsouthwestern.edu

Climbing Club

The mission of the Climbing Club is to foster a community of students, staff, and faculty who are interested in rock climbing and the outdoors. We aim to support and motivate climbers of all skill levels through climbing sessions at local gyms and outdoors, and plan to host talks and workshops that integrate climbing and health. Our club welcomes people of any race, ethnicity, religion, national origin, gender identity, gender expression, political affiliation, sexual orientation, and eligible age or disability status. We hope to provide a fun environment to meet new people and learn about the world of climbing!

Emily Nip Emily.Nip@utsouthwestern.edu
Hector Chaires Hector.Chaires@utsouthwestern.edu

Dartos Soccer Club

Dartos is the men’s soccer team at UT Southwestern. In the fall and spring, we play in the Dallas Soccer Alliance League. Commitment is limited to weekly games on Sunday mornings and afternoons. In the off season we play indoor (sometimes). The team comprises fun-loving and competitive students. Please reach out to team representatives to try-out for a spot on the team.

Mauricio Valdez Mauricio.Valdez@utsouthwestern.edu
Angel Valencia Angel.Valencia@utsouthwestern.edu

Disc Golf Club

Dartos is the men’s soccer team at UT Southwestern. In the fall and spring, we play in the Dallas Soccer Alliance League. Commitment is limited to weekly games on Sunday mornings and afternoons. In the off season we play indoor (sometimes). The team comprises fun-loving and competitive students. Please reach out to team representatives to try-out for a spot on the team.

Tyler Cepica Tyler.Cepica@utsouthwestern.edu
Kyle Langston Kyle.Langston@utsouthwestern.edu

Golf Association

Founded in summer 2020 the Golf Association strives to bring together students, residents, and faculty to promote an informal environment for career coaching and overall academic success via the shared love for the game of golf.

Graham Andre Graham.Andre@utsouthwestern.edu
David Edwards David.Edwards@utsouthwestern.edu

Latin Dance Club

Latin Dance Club is a student organization that aims to promote health and wellness through the art of dance. Our instructors will hold open classes twice a month to teach the UTSW community the basics to Latin dance styles such as salsa, bachata, and merengue. All levels are welcome. We hope to provide a fun and relaxed environment where you can interact with fellow students and develop your dancing skills.

Autumn Greenfield Autumn.Greenfield@utsouthwestern.edu
Jawaher Azam Jawaher.Azam@utsouthwestern.edu

Mountain Bike Club

Founded in spring 2021, the goal of this organization is to connect people at UT Southwestern who love to mountain bike and get together and ride on trails around DFW.

Jacob Wood Jacob.wood@utsouthwestern.edu
Casey Strauss casey.strauss@utsouthwestern.edu

Shred for Med

Founded in fall 2020, Shred for Med aims to bring together UT Southwestern students, residents, and faculty interested in weightlifting and proper use of gym equipment. We hope to provide a healthy way to destress, relax, and meet new people.

Roger Liang Roger.Liang@utsouthwestern.edu
Benjamin Wang benjamin.wang@utsouthwestern.edu

Southwestern Fitness Club

The Southwestern Fitness Club aims to familiarize UTSW students, faculty, and affiliated members with weight training; we are especially hoping to reach women! The club will have weekly, peer-led sessions and will focus on teaching proper form, setting up and using gym equipment, ways to structure workouts based on your goals, and getting comfortable in the gym. Weight training has many health benefits but can be intimidating without prior experience, so come learn with us!

Kristine Yang Kristine.Yang@utsouthwestern.edu
Roger Liang Roger.Liang@utsouthwestern.edu

Table Tennis Club

Our organization’s goal is to promote wellness through the sport of table tennis. We all have had great experiences with the sport in the past and want to share this unique pastime with others.

David Shu david.shu@utsouthwestern.edu

Taekwondo

Taekwondo is a Korean martial art known for its rapid kicking techniques and is one of the most popular martial arts in the world, spanning over 100 countries with more than 30 million practitioners. At UT Southwestern, classes are held every week in the Bryan Williams, M.D. Student Center’s multipurpose room, and beginners are more than encouraged to join. No prior martial arts experience is needed. Our classes are great opportunities to get a good workout and meet new people. Safety will always take priority, and you are always welcome to just come and watch.

Currently Inactive  

Tennis Club

The goal of the Tennis Club is to offer opportunities for members of the UTSW community to play tennis together. We organize weekly meetings for members to rally, do drills, or play matches. All skill levels are welcome!

Charlotte Greif Charlotte.Greif@utsouthwestern.edu

Wimbledon Pickleball Club

Wimbledon Pickleball Club aims to bring together UTSW students, residents, and faculty interested in the pickleball community. By so doing we hope to provide UTSW the opportunity to connect with not just a new sport, but a new frontier. A frontier that requires the perfect blend of strategy, hand-eye coordination, and a competitive fire that rages within. Join today!

Shyon Parsa Shyon.Parsa@utsouthwestern.edu
Jeffrey Chapman Jeffrey.Chapman@utsouthwestern.edu