Skip to Main

Donald W. Seldin, M.D., Research Symposium

2016 Inaugural Seldin Symposium: L-R, Dr. Andrew Lacetti, Dr. Donald Seldin, Dr. Ariel Aday and Dr. Steven Philips.

2017 Seldin Symposium: Dr. Jennifer Fan reviews her poster with Dr. Una Makris and guest judge Dr. Marlene Rabinovich.

2018 Seldin Symposium with residents Dr. Esther de Boer, Dr. Kayla Riggs, Dr. Colin Washington, Dr. Mary Hon and Dr. Corbin Eule.

2018 Seldin Symposium: Department Chair, Dr. David Johnson listens as Dr. An Lu presents her research data.

2019 Seldin Symposium with Dr. Geoffrey Huntley and judge Dr. Ank Nijhawan.

2019 Seldin Symposium with Dr. David Willcutts, Dr. Elsa Pichlinski, Dr. Stephan Buteau and Dr. Aaron Fond.


The Donald W. Seldin Research Symposium is Internal Medicine's annual resident and fellow research day. Since its start in 2016, it has become the flagship research event of the residency program. In 2022, there were close to 100 submissions.

One resident is named the Donald W. Seldon Scholar, Seldin Scholars and their faculty mentors receive a financial award, made possible by generous gifts to UTSW and the Department of Internal Medicine.

The vision of the Seldin Symposium is to have all residents present at least one academic project each year, and:

  1. Highlight interesting cases

    To highlight interesting cases and important research in the Department of Internal Medicine.

  2. Promote the research mission

    To promote the research mission of the Department and the residency program.

  3. Collaboration

    To foster research collaboration.

The Seldin Symposium is held in late spring in a poster session. Participants present clinical and basic research, case reports, and quality improvement initiatives. Department faculty members and invited guest researchers serve as judges and selected six finalists, who are named Foster Fellows in honor of the late Daniel W. Foster, M.D., the third Department chair.

The Foster Fellows present their research in a short oral format at the Grand Rounds, where a panel of judges selects the winning project.

2023 Seldin Symposium Awaredees with department leadership, and Dr. Ellen Taylor-Seldin (l)

2023 Seldin Symposium Seldin Scholar, Dr. Lisandro May Ramos with mentors Drs. Phillip Sherer (l) and Joseph Hill (r) and department chair Dr. Thomas Wang

2023 Seldin Symposium Foster Fellow, Dr. Ijeoma Eleazu (r) with Dr. Thomas Wang (l)

2023 Seldin Symposium Foster Fellow, Dr. Juan Salcedo Betancourt (r) and Dr. Thomas Wang (l)

2023 Seldin Symposium Foster Fellow, Dr. Sumitabh Singh with Dr. Thomas Wang (l) and mentor Dr. Ambarish Pandey (r)

2023 Seldin Symposium Foster Fellow, Dr. Aaron Smith (r) with Dr. Thomas Wang (l)


Previous Symposium Keynote Speakers

  • 2022 Kavita Bhavan, M.D.

    Kavita Bhavan, M.D.
    Chief Innovation Officer, Parkland Health and Hospital System
    Associate Professor, Departments of Health Systems and Internal Medicine
    Division of Infectious Diseases and Geographic Medicine
    "Experiences with Engaging Patients and Community to Improve Health: A Low-Tech Approach to Innovation in Care Delivery"

  • 2021 Robert M. Califf, MD, MACC

    Robert M. Califf, MD, MACC
    Head of Clinical Policy and Strategy for Verily and Google Health
    Adjunct Professor, Duke University and Stanford University
    I.G. Bromberg Memorial Visiting Professorship
    "Can we Stop the Tsunami of Common, Chronic Disease in the Post-Pandemic Era?"

  • 2020 Joseph Goldstein, M.D.

    Joseph Goldstein, M.D.
    Professor of Molecular Genetics and Internal Medicine
    Chair, Molecular Genetics
    "How to Solve a Scientific Puzzle: Clues from Stockholm and Broadway"
    Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, Dr. Goldstein was unable to present at Grand Rounds

  • 2019 Markey McNutt, M.D., Ph.D.

    Markey McNutt, M.D., Ph.D.
    Assistant Professor
    Eugene McDermott Center for Human Growth and Development, Internal Medicine, and Pediatrics
    “The Genetic Basis of Heritable Disease”

  • 2018 Michael S. Brown, M.D.

    Michael S. Brown, M.D.
    The W.A. (Monty) Moncrief Distinguished Chair in Cholesterol and Arteriosclerosis Research Regental Professor
    Paul J. Thomas Professor of Molecular Genetics
    Director, Jonsson Center for Molecular Genetics
    Recipient of the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 1985
    “Controlling Cholesterol”

  • 2017 Marlene Rabinovitch, M.D.

    Marlene Rabinovitch, M.D.
    Dwight and Vera Dunlevie Professor in Pediatric-Cardiology
    Staff Scientist, Vera Moulton Wall Center for Pulmonary Vascular Disease
    Stanford University School of Medicine
    Robert L. Johnson, Jr., M.D., Lectureship in Internal Medicine,
    hosted by Dr. Connie Hsia, Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine

    “Crossing the Intersection of Genetics and Inflammation to Find a Cure for Pulmonary Arterial Hypertension”