Skip to Main

Donald W. Seldin Research Symposium

The Donald W. Seldin, M.D., Research Symposium is the annual showcase research event of the Department of Internal Medicine at UT Southwestern Medical Center. Highlighting the tremendous research activity of Internal Medicine residents and fellows, the Symposium brings together trainees, faculty, and staff to celebrate the collaborative mentored research performed by Internal Medicine Trainees.

The Symposium held annually in late spring, when trainees gather to present posters detailing their research activities, where all faculty from the department and across campus are invited to celebrate and learn more about the breadth and depth of the department’s trainee research projects.


Dr. William Kaelin delivers the Keynote Address for 2024 Seldin Research Symposium

Residents and Fellows attend poster presentations.

L-R: Dr. Angela Duvalyan, Dr. Joel Elmquist, Dr. Steven Mansoor, Dr. William Kaelin, Dr. Thomas Wang and Dr. Kyle O'Malley

Dr. Karim Seif El Dahan shares research project at the Foster Fellows Grand Rounds

Residents, Fellows and Faculty attend poster presentations.

Dr. Haitao Xu presents research during the Foster Fellows Grand Rounds.

Dr. Niharika Neela shares her research project at the Foster Fellows Grand Rounds


Research Competition

Posters are also judged each year by a large panel of Internal Medicine faculty, critically evaluating the strength of their experimental design and/or approach to patient-oriented problems and cases, the advancement of our fund of knowledge from their results and case analyses, and the potential for their work to significantly impact human health and health care.

Six finalists, designated as Foster Fellows in honor of the late Daniel W. Foster, M.D., are announced the next day following Internal Medicine Grand Rounds. Those finalists then present their work in short 5-minute blitz talks during Grand Rounds the following week, when a panel of judges vote to select that year’s winning Seldin Scholar.


Monetary awards are issued to each finalist and their faculty mentor to further support the education and development of each trainee, as well as further develop the collaborative research project between each finalist and their mentor. Each award celebrates the important collaboration between the faculty mentor and trainee and encourages the development of further research collaborations each year between Internal Medicine trainees and faculty.

Dr. Chen Liu, Dr. Baijie Xu; Basic Science Award 1st place recipient, Dr. Joel Elmquist and Dr. Amanda Clark Xu; Basic Science Award 2nd place recipient

Dr. Karim Seif El Dahan; Foster Fellow Award recipient and Dr. Salahudin Kazi

Dr. Salahuddin Kazi and Dr. Ruchi Desai; Foster Fellow Award recipient

Dr. Mauricio Ostrosky Frid; Clinical Vignette Award recipient and Dr. Salahuddin Kazi

Dr. Salahuddin Kazi and Dr. Emily Decicco; Foster Fellow Award recipient

Dr. Salahuddin Kazi, Dr. Vinayak Subramania; Foster Fellow Award recipient and Dr. Ambarish Pandey (mentor)

Dr. James Brugarolas (mentor), Dr. Haitao Xu; Seldin Scholar Award recipient, and Dr. Salahuddin Kazi

Front L-R: Dr. Joel Elmquist, Dr. Ruchi Desai, Dr. Niharika Neela, Dr. Emily Decicco and Dr. Salahuddin Kazi Back L-R: Dr. Vinayak Subramanian, Dr. Mauricio Ostrosky Frid, Dr. Haitao Xu and Dr. Karim Seif El Dahan



Via generous donations, funding is available that enables us to award trainees judged to have given the most outstanding and impactful research presentation. These awards were made in direct support of their medical education and career development. Awards are named in honor of the late Dr. Daniel W. Foster and Dr. Donald W. Seldin, who as former Chairs of Medicine laid the foundation for the outstanding resident research programs ongoing today. Additional resources were also provided to their faculty mentors; these funds were dedicated to continue and extend the collaborative mentor-resident research project, thereby supporting the publication of the results in a peer-reviewed journal and/or presentation at a national meeting.

Previous Symposium Speakers

  • 2024 Keynote and Seldin-Smith Physican Scientist

    William G. Kaelin Jr, M.D.
    Professor of Medicine
    Danna-Farber Cancer Institute
    “New Treatments for Anemia, Ischemia, and Cancer Emerging from Studies of von Hippel-Lindau Disease”

    Steven E. Mansoor, M.D., Ph.D.
    Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine
    Division of Cardiovascular Medicine
    Oregon Health & Science University
    “From Molecular Structure to Drug Development: How Structural Biology can Impact Cardiovascular Medicine.”

  • 2023 Keynote and Seldin-Smith Physican Scientist

    Daniel Drucker, M.D.
    Professor of Medicine
    University of Toronto
    "Changing Outcomes for People Liveing with Cardiometabolic Disorders"

    Deepak Mijhawan, M.D.
    Associate Professor of Internal Medicine
    Division of Hematology & Oncology
    UT Southwestern Medical Center
    "Molecular Medicine: Adventures in Academic Drug Discovery"

  • 2022 Kavita Bhavan, M.D.

    Kavita Bhavan, M.D.
    Chief Innovation Officer, Parkland Health and Hospital System
    Associate Professor, Departments of Health Systems and Internal Medicine
    Division of Infectious Diseases and Geographic Medicine
    "Experiences with Engaging Patients and Community to Improve Health: A Low-Tech Approach to Innovation in Care Delivery"

  • 2021 Robert M. Califf, MD, MACC

    Robert M. Califf, MD, MACC
    Head of Clinical Policy and Strategy for Verily and Google Health
    Adjunct Professor, Duke University and Stanford University
    I.G. Bromberg Memorial Visiting Professorship
    "Can we Stop the Tsunami of Common, Chronic Disease in the Post-Pandemic Era?"

  • 2020 Joseph Goldstein, M.D.

    Joseph Goldstein, M.D.
    Professor of Molecular Genetics and Internal Medicine
    Chair, Molecular Genetics
    "How to Solve a Scientific Puzzle: Clues from Stockholm and Broadway"
    Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, Dr. Goldstein was unable to present at Grand Rounds

  • 2019 Markey McNutt, M.D., Ph.D.

    Markey McNutt, M.D., Ph.D.
    Assistant Professor
    Eugene McDermott Center for Human Growth and Development, Internal Medicine, and Pediatrics
    “The Genetic Basis of Heritable Disease”

  • 2018 Michael S. Brown, M.D.

    Michael S. Brown, M.D.
    The W.A. (Monty) Moncrief Distinguished Chair in Cholesterol and Arteriosclerosis Research Regental Professor
    Paul J. Thomas Professor of Molecular Genetics
    Director, Jonsson Center for Molecular Genetics
    Recipient of the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 1985
    “Controlling Cholesterol”

  • 2017 Marlene Rabinovitch, M.D.

    Marlene Rabinovitch, M.D.
    Dwight and Vera Dunlevie Professor in Pediatric-Cardiology
    Staff Scientist, Vera Moulton Wall Center for Pulmonary Vascular Disease
    Stanford University School of Medicine
    Robert L. Johnson, Jr., M.D., Lectureship in Internal Medicine,
    hosted by Dr. Connie Hsia, Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine

    “Crossing the Intersection of Genetics and Inflammation to Find a Cure for Pulmonary Arterial Hypertension”