Skip to Main


UT Southwestern has a long history and commitment to resident training, with more than 80 accredited residency and fellowship programs operating this year. Affiliation agreements with the teaching hospitals of Parkland Memorial Hospital, UT Southwestern University Hospitals (William P. Clements Jr. University Hospital and Zale Lipshy Pavilion – William P. Clements Jr. University Hospital), and Children’s Health offer a wide variety of learning experiences, including a year of protected time for in-depth research.

Part of UT Southwestern’s Harold C. Simmons Comprehensive Cancer Center, the Department of Radiation Oncology is comprised of three divisions: Clinical Radiation Oncology, Medical Physics and Engineering, and Molecular Radiation Biology

The clinical division is comprised of disease-oriented teams (DOTs)—where each team focuses on one major cancer type – and includes radiation oncologists, residents, researchers, nurses, and other clinical staff. The DOTs include breast, gynecologic, head and neck, lung, genitourinary, gastrointestinal, central nervous system, lymphoma, and pediatrics.

Our residency program, led by Dr. Kiran Kumar and Dr. Mona Arbab, is part of the larger department that includes physicians, physicists, dosimetrists, molecular biology researchers, and various clinical and administrative staff. Meet our faculty.

Our four-year program, available to those who have completed their first post-graduate year, has been accredited by the ACGME since 2005 and has grown to be one of the top programs in the country for radiation oncology training and research.