Meet the Chief

W. Lee Kraus, Ph.D., Chief, Basic Reproductive Biology Research

W. Lee Kraus, Ph.D., Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology, is Chief of the Division of Basic Reproductive Biology Research, Director of the Cecil H. and Ida Green Center for Reproductive Biology Sciences, and has a secondary appointment as Professor in the Department of Pharmacology. Dr. Kraus also holds the Cecil H. and Ida Green Distinguished Chair in Reproductive Biology Sciences.

He completed graduate research on the regulation of steroid hormone receptor activity in the laboratory of Benita S. Katzenellenbogen, Ph.D., at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, and received his Ph.D. in 1994. Dr. Kraus did his postdoctoral research on the mechanisms of transcriptional regulation with chromatin in the laboratory of Jim Kadonaga, Ph.D., at the University of California, San Diego.

During his postdoctoral work, Dr. Kraus was supported by fellowships from the National Institutes of Health and the American Cancer Society, California Division.

Prior to joining the faculty at UT Southwestern Medical Center, Dr. Kraus was a Professor in the Department of Molecular Biology and Genetics at Cornell University in Ithaca. He also held a joint appointment in the Department of Pharmacology at the Weill Medical College of Cornell University in New York City.

Dr. Kraus has been supported by a Career Award in the Biomedical Sciences/Reproductive Biology from the Burroughs Wellcome Fund, as well as grants from the National Institutes of Health, the American Cancer Society, the Endocrine Society, and the National Science Foundation.

Dr. Kraus has trained a total of 12 postdocs, 14 Ph.D. students, and 20 undergraduate researchers. He has published more than 60 original research articles and reviews in peer-reviewed journals. He has also won a number of research and teaching awards, including the Endocrine Society's Richard E. Weitzman Memorial Award for research excellence (2007), the Cornell University College of Agriculture and Life Sciences Young Faculty Teaching Excellence Award (2004), and the Cornell University College of Agriculture and Life Sciences Excellence in Undergraduate Research Mentoring Award (2008).