Program Leadership

Thomas Wang, M.D.
Thomas J. Wang, M.D.
Professor and Chair,
Department of Internal Medicine

Dear Applicant,
UT Southwestern is a premier institution with a storied history that is in the midst of an exciting period of growth. With three diverse clinical training sites, residents can expect to develop excellent clinical acumen while interacting with world class faculty who are pioneers in their respective fields. The Department of Medicine has a legacy of commitment to innovation, and there are abundant opportunities for residents to engage with research and clinical pursuits.  Under the leadership of Dr. Dino Kazi, Associate Program Directors and Chief Residents, the residency program continues to embody the spirit of scientific pursuit and of service. Our program is deeply committed to diversity, and under the guidance of Dr. Quinn Capers IV, we continue to strive for equity and excellence for all. The success of the Department of Internal Medicine is a direct result of the close ties between the housestaff and our world-class clinical faculty and at UT Southwestern, we are dedicated to training future leaders and delivering excellent care across the spectrum. Read on below to learn more about our leadership.
Tommy Wang

2022-2023 Chief Residents

Dr. Emily Hoff

Emily Hoff, M.D.
Medical School: Yale University

Dr.  Vicente Morales Oyarvide

Vicente Morales Oyarvide, M.D., M.P.H.
Medical School: Tecnológico de Monterrey Escuela de Medicina

Dr. Matthew Robson

Matthew Robson, M.D.
Medical School: University of South Alabama

Dr. Eddie Stephens

Edward Stephens, M.D.
Medical School: Indiana University

Dr. Emil Thyssen

Emil Thyssen, M.D.
Medical School: University of Missouri-Columbia

Dr. Lauren Ward

Lauren Ward, M.D.
Medical School: University of Minnesota

Associate Program Directors

Dr. Sujata Bhushan

Sujata Bhushan, M.D.
Associate Professor
Division of General Internal Medicine

Dr. Rosechelle Ruggiero

Rosechelle Ruggiero, M.D.
Associate Professor
Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care
Mentorship and Residency Recruitment

Dr. Kerry Dunbar

Kerry Dunbar, M.D.
Division of Digestive and Liver Diseases
Curriculum Development

Dr. Christiana Renner

Christiana Renner, M.D.
Associate Professor
Division of Hospital Medicine

Dr. Dale Okorodudu

Dale Okorodudu, M.D.
Associate Professor
Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care

Dr. Amarish Pandey

Ambarish Pandey, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Division of Cardiology
Resident Research

Dr. Elizabeth Paulk

Elizabeth Paulk, M.D.
Division of General Internal Medicine, Palliative Care
Resident Recuritment

photo of Dr. Sarah Wingfield

Sarah Wingfield, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Division of Geriatric Medicine

Associate Director of Education

photo of Dr. Shannon Scielzo

Shannon Scielzo, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Internal Medicine



Vice Chairs

Reeni Abraham, M.D.

Reeni Abraham, M.D.
Associate Professor and Associate Vice Chair
Undergraduate Medical Education

Quinn Capers IV, M.D.

Quinn Capers IV, M.D.
Professor and Vice Chair
Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

Joel Elmquist, D.V.M., Ph.D.

Joel Elmquist, D.V.M., Ph.D.
Professor and Vice Chair

Jose Joglar, M.D.

Jose Joglar, M.D.
Professor and Vice Chair
Clinical Affairs, Parkland

Susan Hedayati, M.D.

S. Susan Hedayati, M.D.
Professor and Associate Vice Chair

Salahuddin Kazi, M.D.

Salahuddin Kazi, M.D.
Professor and Vice Chair

Dr. Steven Leach

Steven Leach, M.D.
Professor and Associate Vice Chair
Clinical Operations

Dr. Tyler Miller

R. Tyler Miller, M.D.
Professor and Vice Chair
Chief of Medicine, VA Medical Center

Dr. Sharon Reimold

Sharon Reimold, M.D.
Professor and Vice Chair
Clinical Operations and Faculty Development

Dr. Jonathan Weisseler

Jonathan C. Weissler, M.D.
Professor and Vice Chair
Chief of Medicine, University Hospitals