Academy for Performance Excellence (APEX)

The Academy for Performance Excellence encourages a culture of performance excellence and patient safety by providing a recognition program for UT Southwestern Medical Center faculty, fellows, residents, students, nurses, and staff who are committed to lifelong learning, improvement activities, and scholarship in patient safety and performance improvement.

The program rewards competency-based education, practical application, and scholarly activities related to leadership, performance improvement methodology, and high-reliability principles. Individuals who accomplish predefined milestones in performance improvement education, project completion, and scholarly activity will progress through a certification process recognizing their achievements and competence.

APEX includes UT Southwestern’s Medical, Health Professions, and Graduate Schools and is housed in and communicated through the Academy for Career Enrichment (ACE) portal.

Competence Levels

Individuals can gain membership and advance in APEX by demonstrating levels of competence in quality improvement education, project participation, and scholarship. Competence levels include:

  • Bronze
  • Silver
  • Gold
  • Platinum

Program Activities

Program participants accumulate activity points in the areas of:

  • Personal education
  • Participation in quality improvement activities
  • Publication or presentation of quality improvement activities
  • Successful quality improvement grant application
  • Mentoring of quality improvement mentees

The APEX program is limited to UT Southwestern staff and faculty.

Apply to APEX