The Department of Surgery at UT Southwestern Medical Center consists of nine divisions and administers a multidisciplinary program through the UT Southwestern Center for Minimally Invasive Surgery. The department has a long tradition of excellence in providing clinical care and educating residents and students.

Our Mission


Be the preeminent academic Department of Surgery in the world.


The Department of Surgery at UT Southwestern will deliver high value surgical care in diverse clinical settings that serves the needs of our patients, academic mission, and community stakeholders. We will develop trainees, faculty, and staff with the highest levels of technical proficiency and social competence.

We will develop innovative patient-centered research programs that will create new knowledge, while fostering the investigative skills of our faculty, trainees, and staff.

We will be a department with the highest levels of inclusiveness, diversity, and engagement to promote the professional development of every member.

Core Values

  • Excellence
  • Accountability
  • Teamwork
  • Inclusion

The Divisions of the Department of Surgery

Bariatric and Foregut Surgery
Burn, Trauma, Acute and Critical Care Surgery (BTACCS)
Colon & Rectal Surgery
Endocrine Surgery
Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery
Pediatric Surgery
Surgical Oncology
Surgical Transplantation
Vascular Surgery