Fellowships in Internal Medicine

The intellectual environment at UT Southwestern Medical Center emphasizes scholarship and fosters an understanding of the pathogenesis and natural history of disease, as well as evidence-based clinical therapeutics. Fellows may enter one of several tracks highlighted below (the language naming these tracks can differ slightly from division to division):

  • Clinical Scholar Track
  • Investigator Track
  • Combined Clinical and Research Training
  • Postdoctoral Fellowships in Basic Research

The Department of Internal Medicine is organized into Divisions that provide the excellent education, research, and patient care for which the Department is renowned. Among the resources available to fellows is the Physician Scientist Training Program (PSTP) under the auspices of which our internationally renowned faculty provides highly individualized scientific mentorship in preparation for a career in biomedical research.

Fellowship Programs

Program Director: David Khan, M.D.

Program Director: Gail Peterson, M.D. 

Advanced Adult Structural Interventional Fellowship
Program Director: Dharam Kumbhani, M.D.

Advanced Echocardiography
Program Director: Anish Bhatt, M.D.

Advanced Heart Failure and Transplant Cardiology
Program Director: Robert Morlend, M.D.

Clinical Cardiac Electrophysiology
Program Director: Jose Joglar, M.D.

Program Director: Vlad Zaha, M.D., Ph.D.

Interventional Cardiology
Program Director: Tayo Addo, M.D.

Digestive & Liver Diseases
Program Director: Arjmand Mufti, M.D.

Advanced Endoscopy
Program Director: Arjmand Mufti, M.D.

Transplant Hepatology
Program Director: Shannan Tujios, M.D.

Program Director: Sasan Mirfakhraee, M.D.

Nutrition and Metabolic Diseases
Program Director: Abhamanyu Garg, M.D.

General Internal Medicine
Program Director: Michael Bowen, M.D. 

Geriatric Medicine
Program Director: Vivyenne Roche, M.D. 

Program Director: Amy Jones, M.D.

Program Director: Wanpen Vongpatanasin, M.D. 

Infectious Diseases
Program Director: James Cutrell, M.D.

HIV Medicine
Program Director: Ellen Kitchell, M.D.

Transplant ID
Program Director: Ricardo La Hoz, M.D.

Program Director: Kamalanathan Sambandam, M.D.

Transplant Nephrology
Program Director: David Wojciechowski, D.O.

Palliative Medicine
Program Director: M. Elizabeth Paulk, M.D. 

Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine
Program Director: John Battaile, M.D.

Lung Transplant
Program Director: Irina Timofte, M.D.

Rheumatic Diseases
Program Director: Guillermo “Andres” Quiceno, M.D.