COVID-19 Update: Information and resources can be found here.

Academic Colleges

UT Southwestern Medical School students are assigned to one of six Colleges on their first day, and they remain in that College all four years. A student’s College serves as a learning community that brings together gifted faculty with small groups of students.

In this informal environment, students and faculty share the experience of being a physician. Professionalism, communication, and clinical skills are taught in a bedside setting. The group engages in deep discussions of many topics, including:

  • Clinical medicine
  • Clinical reasoning
  • Ethics
  • Professionalism
  • Human behavior

Academic Colleges serve as building blocks for developing and sustaining additional learning communities throughout UT Southwestern.

Learn more about the six Academic Colleges.