Skip to Main

Resident Activities

From improving patient care to education and wellness, our residents hone their leadership skills through a variety of activities and committees on local and national levels.

  • American Airlines Center Representative
    American Airlines Center

    Our association with Dallas Fire & Rescue enables volunteering at almost any event at the American Airlines Center, Dallas' premier sports and entertainment arena and home to the NBA's Dallas Mavericks and the NHL's Dallas Stars. 

    These activities are coordinated by the designated Chief and Resident Coordinator.

  • Curriculum
    Students practicing emergency medicine procedures

    The Curriculum Committee is comprised of faculty and resident representatives who work closely to optimize the learning experience.

    Chairs: Kate Krause, Emily Usheva, and Jason Vadhan

  • Diversity and Inclusion
    A group of residents of varying ages, genders, and nationalities together at conference

    This committee supports the residency program’s strong values of diversity and inclusion. Our curriculum has built-in educational lectures and presentations to support these principles.

    Chairs: Tony Mathew and Peter Yun

  • EMRA Representative
  • Recruitment/Outreach

    The recruitment/outreach team meets potential new residents at nearly weekly dinners, organizing the visit schedule for hosts and attendees.

    Chairs: Sarah Wells and Rebecca Yue

  • Social Media

    Our social media committee is responsible for our residency program's FOAMed presence and website, Instagram, and Twitter.

    ​Chairs: Abby Bailey and Vivek Medepalli
    IG: @DallasEMed
    Twitter: @DallasEMed

  • Wellness
    Our residents on a bus together for a group outing on a day off

    Sponsored by a generous donation through the Wainscott Fund (named after the long time Program Director of UT Southwestern’s Emergency Medicine Residency), the Wellness Committee looks out for residents’ happiness by planning social events, providing snacks, and giving support.

    Chairs: Liz Adams and Seth Cohen