Skip to Main

Multidisciplinary Pain Medicine

About Us 

The Multidisciplinary Pain Medicine Fellowship Program is designed to enable physicians to pursue and excel in careers as specialists in Pain Medicine. Our fellows are affiliated with the Department of Anesthesiology and Pain Management at The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, with board certification through the American Board of Medical Specialties and the American Board of Anesthesiology. 

This 12-month fellowship includes interventional, interdisciplinary, and acute, chronic, and cancer pain management on an inpatient and outpatient basis. Our fellows rotate through various ACGME required rotations along with electives integrated in order to enhance the overall educational experience. Fellows have the opportunity to rotate through several different sites in order to work with various patient populations and, on average, participate in a high volume of basic and advanced interventional procedures. 
Our didactic program involves a dedicated lecture series, journal club with morbidity/mortality discussion, along with open forums and other opportunities. We also encourage active research participation with the goal of learning the basics of research and publication, with multiple possibilities existing with our teaching faculty across the institution. Our goal is to educate and graduate capable physicians who will also be leaders in our field! 

Participating Clinical Sites

  • UT Southwestern University Hospitals 
  • UT Southwestern Spine Center 
  • Parkland Health and Hospital System 
  • Simmons Chronic Pain Management Clinic 
  • VA North Texas Health Care System 
  • Children's Medical Center, Dallas and Plano 

Our People

Leadership rosters: 

Stephanie Jones, M.D.

Program Director

Kevin Neal, M.D.

Associate Program Director

Roster of current fellows:

Yasmin Fatemi, M.D.

Travis Hayden, M.D.

Chris McElrath, M.D.


Clinical Rotations

Each Pain Medicine Fellow begins his or her rotation at either UT Southwestern University Hospitals, Parkland Health and Hospital System, and VA North Texas Health Care System. Each site rotation is 2 consecutive months, every 6 months, and boasts its own unique clinical rotations: 

UT Southwestern University Hospitals 

  • Chronic and Acute Pain Management 
  • Inpatient and Outpatient 
  • Palliative Care 
  • Neurosurgery 
  • Neurology Clinic 
  • Intraoperative Procedures 
  • Fellow Continuity Clinic 

Parkland Health and Hospital System 

  • Chronic and Acute Pain Management 
  • Inpatient and Outpatient 
  • Psychiatry 
  • Intraoperative Procedure 
  • Fellow Continuity Clinic 

Veteran Affairs Medical Center 

  • Chronic and Acute Pain Management 
  • Inpatient and Outpatient 
  • Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation 
  • Neurology (Headache Clinic) 
  • Fellow Continuity Clinic