Class Notes for February 2018

In Memoriam

Medical School

Raymond Robert Gibbons, M.D. (’55)

George H. Anderson, M.D. (’57)

Richard “Dick” Garrett, M.D. (’57)

Joe Ed Smith, M.D. (’60)

Harold D. Stephens, M.D. (’61)

Marshall E. Hamilton, M.D. (’68)

Richard E. Fleming, M.D. (’71)

John R. Vorhies Jr., M.D. (’72)


Martin H. Boone Jr., M.D. (General Surgery)

Donald E. Krause, M.D. (Ob/Gyn)

Donald F. Terry, M.D. (Internal Medicine/Cardiology)

Billy Bob “BB” Trotter, M.D. (Pathology)

Graduate School

Ann Maddrey, Ph.D. (’97) 

Medical School

Class of 1960: Richard L. Mabry, M.D., writes: “After 27 years in private practice and 10 years as a Professor of Otolaryngology at UT Southwestern, I’ve now had 11 novels and four novellas of medical mystery published. Yes, Virginia, there is life after medicine.” 

Class of 1975: Mary Milam, M.D., who practices hematology/oncology in Fort Worth, is the 2017 recipient of the Tarrant County Medical Society’s Gold-Headed Cane Award. The award was established to recognize a physician who symbolizes the pursuit of the highest standards of scientific excellence and integrity.

Class of 1977: Spencer R. Berthelsen, M.D., was honored by Houston’s Kelsey-Seybold Clinic for his years of leadership with the renaming of its executive headquarters and flagship clinic as the Spencer R. Berthelsen, M.D., Main Campus.

Class of 1986: Robert J. Berkompas, M.D., a former primary care provider, is the Chief Medical Officer for Nashville-based Alive Hospice. Alive Hospice has developed a communication and training program, called SHARE, to teach medical providers how to address the needs of their patients who are nearing the end of life.

Class of 2006: Danika N. Franks, M.D., an emergency medicine physician, has been named as the first Assistant Dean of Students at the TCU and UNT Health Science Center School of Medicine. Among her duties will be to oversee support services for students and develop a career advising program. 

Class of 2008: Nathaniel B. Ngo, M.D., has joined Dignity Health in Woodland, California, as a board-certified obstetrician/gynecologist. 


Jeffrey E. Janis, M.D. (Plastic Surgery) has been elected President of the American Society of Plastic Surgeons. In addition to training at UT Southwestern, Dr. Janis was also on the UTSW Department of Plastic Surgery faculty for 10 years before joining the faculty at The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center.

Irving M. Pike, M.D. (Gastroenterology), Senior Vice President and Chief Medical Officer at John Muir Health in Contra Costa County, California, has been elected 2017-2018 President of the American College of Gastroenterology.

Please send your Class Notes contributions or address changes to the Office of Development and Alumni Relations, UT Southwestern Medical Center, 5323 Harry Hines Blvd., Dallas, TX 75390-9009, email, or call 214-648-4539.