Class Notes for April 2018

In Memoriam

Medical School

William “Bill” Kempe, M.D. (’54)

Daniel W. Foster, M.D. (’55)

Donald C. Garrett, M.D. (’57)

Marshall E. Hamilton, M.D. (’68)

Teddy C. Scott, M.D. (’73)


Marjorie C. Ferrell Roper, M.D. (Pediatrics)

Cathryn Elizabeth Powers, M.D. (Ob/Gyn)

Elmer M. Purcell Jr., M.D. (Pathology)

David A. Whiting, M.D. (Dermatology)

Graduate School

Ann Maddrey, Ph.D. (’97)

Medical School

Class of 1968: Dale C. Moquist, M.D., was named 2017 Physician Emeritus by the Texas Academy of Family Physicians. Each year, patients and physicians nominate extraordinary long-serving physicians for the honor and the winner is selected by a panel of Academy members.

Class of 1993: Harold G. Weems Jr., M.D., has joined the CHRISTUS Trinity Clinic-Orthopedic Surgery in Texarkana, Texas. Dr. Weems is board certified in orthopedic surgery and uses robotic arm-assisted techniques for both partial and total knee replacements.

Class of 2001: Earl Gage, M.D., and his wife Lynelle welcomed their ninth child, William McHenry Gage, on March 22, 2017. The couple, who live in St. Louis, Missouri, have six other sons and two daughters. Dr. Gage practices craniofacial reconstructive surgery at Mercy St. John’s Medical Center.   

Class of 2002: Stephen J. Pont, M.D., has accepted a position with the Texas Department of State Health Services to lead the newly formed Office on Science and Population Health.


Jeffrey E. Janis, M.D. (Plastic Surgery) has been elected President of the American Society of Plastic Surgeons. In addition to training at UT Southwestern, Dr. Janis was also on the UTSW Department of Plastic Surgery faculty for 10 years before joining the faculty at The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center.

Irving M. Pike, M.D. (Gastroenterology), Senior Vice President and Chief Medical Officer at John Muir Health in Contra Costa County, California, has been elected 2017-2018 President of the American College of Gastroenterology.

Upcoming Medical School Reunion Dates:

Thursday, Sept. 20: 50th reunion dinner for the Class of 1968

Friday and Saturday, Sept. 21-22 -- Medical School Alumni Reunion for the Classes of 2008, 1998, 1993, 1988, 1983, 1978, 1973, and 1968

Friday, Oct. 12: Reunion lunch for the Platinum Classes (1944-1967) 

Please send your Class Notes contributions or address changes to the Office of Development and Alumni Relations, UT Southwestern Medical Center, 5323 Harry Hines Blvd., Dallas, TX 75390-9009, email, or call 214-648-4539.