COVID-19 Update: Information and resources can be found here.

SWAT/OME Fellowship Program

SWAT/OME Fellowship Program


The UT Southwestern Academy of Teachers [SWAT], in partnership with the Office of Medical Education (OME) is sponsoring its second annual SWAT/OME Fellowship. This Fellowship will support a year of faculty development in medical education, which may include activities such as attendance at an education conference and support development of new campus educational projects in the realm of undergraduate medical education (UME). Educational proposals from the Health Professions (SHP) and Graduate Schools (SGS) will also be considered. The Fellowship will support approximately 10% of salary (excluding fringes and benefits) at the assistant or associate professor level.


Eligibility Criteria:

  1. Full time UT Southwestern faculty member
  2. Rank of assistant or associate professor


Application Process:

  1. Request a letter of support from your division chief or department chair.
  2. Send the letter of support, your CV and a letter of application to: Dr. Dorothy Sendelbach, SWAT Past President, Mail Code 8569 or email them to:
  3. In your letter, address:
    1. The domain of the project (UME, SHP, SGS)
    2. The criteria for evaluating applications (below)
    3. A proposal for one’s own educational development (e.g. a conference to attend, course to take, etc.)
    4. A proposal of a campus educational project, including;
      1. The identification of a project mentor
      2. A timeline (should be completed in one year)
      3. A budget


Criteria for Evaluating Applications:

  1. Applicant’s current level of engagement in education
  2. Applicant’s level of training in medical education
  3. Proposed project’s alignment with current educational priorities:
    1. Assessment of Learners and Teachers
    2. Competency-Based Education
    3. Curriculum Mapping
    4. Educational Quality Improvement
    5. Simulation


Applications are due by the end of business on June 15, 2019. If you have any questions about the fellowship or the application process, please direct those questions to SWAT President, Dr. Larissa Velez (