Graduate Medical Education Committee (GMEC)

The Graduate Medical Education Committee (GMEC) works collaboratively with Dr. David Weigle, UT Southwestern’s Designated Institutional Official (DIO), to provide oversight of each of the institution’s GME programs. The GMEC is responsible for oversight of:

  • The ACGME accreditation status of the Sponsoring Institution and each of its ACGME-accredited programs;
  • The quality of the GME learning and working environment within the Sponsoring Institution, each of its ACGME-accredited programs, and its participating sites;
  • The quality of educational experiences in each ACGME-accredited program that lead to measurable achievement of educational outcomes as identified in the ACGME Common and specialty/subspecialty-specific Program Requirements;
  • The ACGME-accredited program(s)’ annual evaluation and improvement activities; and,
  • All processes related to reductions and closures of individual ACGME-accredited programs, major participating sites, and the Sponsoring Institution.

Additionally, the GMEC is responsible for reviewing and approving a number of items in accordance with the Responsibilities of the Graduate Medical Education Committee policy, and it exercises similar oversight for all non-ACGME-accredited programs at UT Southwestern.

GMEC Membership

HeadingMember NameTitle
Chair Bradley Marple, M.D. Assistant Dean of Graduate Medical Education
Core Members David Weigle, Ph.D.

Designated Institutional Official, Assistant Dean of Graduate Medical Education

  Daniel Scott, M.D. Associate Dean of Graduate Medical Education
  Salahuddin Kazi, M.D. Internal Medicine
  Jeffrey McKinney, M.D. Pediatrics
  Craig Morriss, M.D. Diagnostic Radiology
  James Cutrell, M.D. Infectious Diseases
  Vanessa Rogers, M.D. Obstetrics & Gynecology
  Larissa Velez, M.D. Emergency Medicine
  Charles Timmons, M.D. Pathology Anatomical and Clinical
  Steven Vernino, M.D. Neurology
  Jeffrey Steiner, M.D. Pediatric Anesthesiology
  Adam Brenner, M.D. Psychiatry
  Kareem Abdelfattah, M.D. Surgery
  William Daniel, M.D. Vice President and Chief Quality Officer
  Catherine Barden, M.D. Anesthesiology
Resident At-Large Marcel Wiley,M.D. Orthopaedic Surgery
  Radhika Kainthla, M.D. Hematology Oncology
Resident Alternate Members Shawn Mathur, M.D. Urology
  Chelsea Cole, M.D. Family Medicine
  Noy Ashkenzay, M.D. Ophthalmology
Hospital Administration Cynthia Foslien-Nash PharmD, ex officio VAMC
  Joseph Chang, M.D., ex officio PHHS
  Brenda Paulsen MEd, ex officio CMC
  Curtis Pullman, ex officio UH

UT Southwestern Graduate Medical Education Advisory Councils

  • Chief Residents Council
  • Program Directors Advisory Council
  • Program Coordinators Advisory Council

GMEC Structure 

GMEC Structure