Minority Housestaff Association

The UT Southwestern Medical Center Minority Housestaff Association (MHA) is an housestaff-led organization created in 2020 to connect residents and fellows at UT Southwestern from underrepresented backgrounds in medicine. The MHA is committed to promoting a community of wellness and support for minority physician trainees and allies within the UT Southwestern network, aid in diversity recruitment initiatives for prospective residents and fellows that are underrepresented in medicine, and participate in service outreach to positively impact local disadvantaged Dallas-Fort Worth communities.

The MHA welcomes house staff from all racial, religious, gender, and sexual orientation backgrounds that are committed to advancing the mission of the organization. Individuals defined as underrepresented in medicine come from the following backgrounds:

  • Black/African-American/African/Afro-Caribbean
  • Hispanic/Latino
  • Indigenous/Native American

The MHA looks to carry out its mission through its three committees of Diversity and Recruitment, Community Outreach, and Networking and Wellness. Each committee has established initiatives in place to uphold the ideals of the MHA.

For more information regarding the MHA, you can azeez.osho@utsouthwestern.edu Azeez Osho.

MHA Leadership

Azeez Osho, M.D.

Azeez Osho, M.D. (PGY-3)

Medical School: Howard University
Residency Program: Internal Medicine

Deina Bossa, M.D.

Deina Bossa, M.D. (PGY-4)

Medical School: University of Florida
Residency Program: Obstetrics-Gynecology

Kristeen Onyirioha, M.D.

Kristeen Onyirioha, M.D. (PGY-3)

Corresponding Secretary
Medical School: University of Texas at San Antonio
Residency Program: Internal Medicine

Andrew Stewart, M.D.

Andrew Stewart, M.D. (PGY-3)

Medical School: Loma Linda University
Residency Program: Internal Medicine

 Gilbert Murimwa, M.D.

Gilbert Murimwa, M.D. (PGY-3)

Diversity Recruitment Co-Chair
Medical School: University of South Florida
Residency Program: General Surgery

Kia Byrd, M.D., M.P.H.

Kia Byrd, M.D., M.P.H. (PGY-3)

Community Outreach Co-Chair
Medical School: Harvard
Residency Program: Internal Medicine

David Osula, M.D.

David Osula, M.D. (PGY-3)

Community Outreach Co-Chair
Medical School: University of Alabama
Residency Program: Internal Medicine

Faith Ajayi, M.D.

Faith Ajayi, M.D. (PGY-3)

Networking and Wellness Committee Co-Chair
Medical School: Georgetown University
Residency Program: Internal Medicine