Skip to Main

Clinical Division

Established in 1992, UT Southwestern’s Department of Radiation Oncology has built a strong reputation for providing superb patient care and for pioneering new and successful radiotherapy technologies confirmed by prospective clinical trials.

Dr. Robert Timmerman, Chair and Professor of our department, was the 2019 recipient of the Patricia and William L. Watson Jr., M.D. Award for Excellence in Clinical Medicine—UT Southwestern’s highest honor in clinical care.

All of our clinical faculty members focus on the treatment of particular disease sites in order to provide a higher level of expertise for patients. Many are additionally trained as laboratory scientists, and divide their time between patient care and conducting innovative bench research with the hope of developing better cancer treatments in the future.

Technologically, the Department is one of the most comprehensive radiotherapy treatment centers in the world, with advanced tools and procedures that include GammaPod, Gamma Knife, CyberKnife, stereotactic ablative radiotherapy (SAbR), accelerated partial breast irradiation, intensity-modulate radiation therapy (IMRT), and intraoperative brachytherapy.

From its inception, our practice has focused particularly on the prudent and evidence-based use of SAbR to heighten the tumor kill response while reducing both patient visits and side effects. Clinical trials led by our institution have paved the way for implementing SABR as the standard of care for certain disease presentations. Groundbreaking correlative research is performed within our Department aimed at further understanding and potentiating this approach in the clinic.