Neonatal/Perinatal Medicine Fellowship

Neonatal/Perinatal Medicine Fellowship Overview 

Charles Rosenfeld, M.D., developed UT Southwestern Medical Center's Neonatal/Perinatal Medicine Training Program using guidelines from the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP), the American Board of Pediatrics (ABP), and the Organization of Neonatal-Perinatal Training Program Directors. The Fellowship Program is fully accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME).

Of the 76 graduates since 1980, half chose a career in academic neonatology and half in clinical practice, both in the U.S. and abroad. To date, 90 percent of graduates have published at least one manuscript from their research work during this fellowship. Our fellows have also enjoyed a 95 percent success rate on the ABP Neonatal-Perinatal sub-board examination.

Teaching Hospitals

Parkland Hospital has more than 10,000 deliveries annually, one of the busiest L&D services in the country. The 90-bed NICU receives 1,100 – 1,300 admissions each year, providing a broad clinical experience.

Children’s Health℠ Children’s Medical Center has a NICU with a 36-bed capacity. The NICU receives complex referral cases from all over Texas and adjoining states.

Division of Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine

Our Division has been a member of the NIH Neonatal Research Network since the network's inception in 1986, and is involved in basic science research, clinical projects, and national collaborative studies. We have the support of eight NIH-funded grants, one of which has been continuously funded for more than 30 years. The Division maintains a high profile at regional, national, and international meetings, with numerous presentations and invited lectures given by faculty and fellows.

Department of Pediatrics

Our Department has more than 200 full-time faculty members working in basic science and clinical research on the problems of child health. The Pediatric Residency Program is one of the finest in the country. The Department offers fellowship training programs in many other subspecialties, including Allergy/Immunology, Cardiology, Critical Care, Emergency Medicine, Endocrinology, Gastroenterology, Genetics/Metabolism, Hematology/Oncology, Infectious Diseases, Nephrology, Rheumatology, and Academic General Pediatrics.

UT Southwestern Medical Center

UT Southwestern Medical School has among its distinguished faculty:

  • Nobel Prize winners, four of whom are actively conducting research, more than any other medical school in the world
  • 22 members of the National Academy of Sciences
  • 17 members of the National Academy of Medicine (formerly the Institute of Medicine)
  • 15 members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences
  • 15 Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigators