Internal Medicine Overview

The Department of Internal Medicine is organized into 15 divisions that provide the excellent education, research, and patient care for which the department is renowned.

Mission Statement

  • To educate medical students, residents, and postdoctoral fellows in accordance with the highest professional standards
  • To prepare clinicians to practice patient-centered, high value, cost conscious medicine of the highest standard
  • To answer fundamental questions in the mechanisms, prevention and treatment of disease, in the basic sciences and in health care delivery

As of 2021, Internal Medicine has over 700 faculty: 648 primary faculty and 79 more from other departments who hold secondary appointments. The primary and secondary faculty includes:

  • 3

    Nobel Prize winners
  • 6

    members of the National Academy of Sciences
  • 7

    members of the National Academy of Medicine
  • 4

    members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences
  • 36

    members of the American Society for Clinical Investigation
  • 28

    members of the Association of American Physicians

These exceptional faculty lead UT Southwestern Medical Center's Internal Medicine programs to produce graduates who balance the core responsibilities of medicine: selfless dedication, competence, and compassion. As with the rest of UT Southwestern, Internal Medicine is pursuing the future of medicine, today.

Internal Medicine Events

Internal Medicine's COVID-19 Action Newsletter

covid-19 image

The Department of Internal Medicine will be providing a timely COVID-19 newsletter, assembled by Dr. James Luby (Division of Infectious Diseases and Geographic Medicine) and Dr. Robert Haley (Division of Epidemiology). The aim of this weekly newsletter is to serve as a concise and reliable source of epidemiologic, clinical, and therapeutic information related to COVID-19. The newsletter will generally be distributed on Fridays. We are grateful to Dr. Luby, Dr. Haley, and the faculty contributors for their efforts to keep the department and the UTSW community up to date on the latest developments in this disease.