Hypertension Fellowship Faculty

The clinical faculty affiliated with the Hypertension Fellowship Program at UT Southwestern Medical Center consists of three hypertension specialists certified by the American Society of Hypertension. These are Wanpen Vongpatanasin, M.D., Director of the Hypertension Program, who also is a cardiologist and a Professor of Medicine with expertise in treatment of resistant hypertension and hypertension associated with autonomic dysfunction; Shawna Nesbitt, M.D., who is an expert in hypertension treatment trials and Professor of Medicine.

We also have close collaborations with endocrinologists, nephrologists, renovascular surgeons, endocrine surgeons, and interventional radiologists—all of whom have special interests and expertise in hypertension. In two years, fellows gain proficiency in the evaluation and treatment of all secondary causes of hypertension, medically refractory hypertension, hypertensive urgencies, and indications and interpretation of 24-hour ambulatory blood pressure monitoring.

Wanpen Vongpatanasin, M.D.
Professor, Division of Cardiology
Norman and Audrey Kaplan Chair in Hypertension
Program Director, Hypertension Fellowship Program

Shawna Nesbitt, M.D.
Professor, Division of Cardiology
Associate Dean, Minority Student Affairs

Angela Price, M.D.
Assistant Professor, Division of Cardiology