Research Academy


The Department of Neurology has a long history of conducting basic science, translational and clinical research at UT Southwestern, requiring planning, the ability to obtain funding, and the ability to handle unexpected results. Our scientists and clinicians have been successful in many pursuits and received international recognition for their accomplishments. In 2020, our department received approximately $9 million in National Institutes of Health (NIH) funding. In 2021 we launched the first Department of Neurology Research Academy to foster research and discovery among faculty and trainees.

A Collaborative Environment

The goal of this academy is to create a unique, collaborative environment for critical review of research and proposed research endeavors. In this forum, established scientists from the department provide faculty and trainees critical feedback about their research. By creating a structure for collaboration among clinicians and scientists with a variety of expertise, we facilitate novel approaches to research questions.


Membership in the Research Academy is based on having a history of significant achievement in neurologic research. This can be attained via basic science, translational or clinical research endeavors. Membership is reviewed annually, and new members are elected to the academy from existing members. After being nominated by an existing member, a nominee is considered based on published literature, history of grant funding, and recognition within their field of study. Members are required to attend at least 75% of the monthly meetings per year.

Current Members and Area Expertise

  • Robert Bachoo, M.D., Ph.D. (Neurooncology)
  • William Dauer, M.D., M.S. (Movement Disorders)
  • Marc Diamond, M.D. (Alzheimers and Neurodegeneration)
  • Benjamin Greenberg, M.D., H.H.S. (Neuroimmunology)
  • Amyn Habib, M.D. (Neurooncology)
  • Ihab Hajjar, M.D., M.S. (Cognitive/Memory Disorders)
  • Elan Louis, M.D., M.S. (Movement Disorders)
  • Nancy Monson, Ph.D. (Multiple Sclerosis and Neuroimmunology)
  • Jill Napierala, Ph.D. (Movement Disorders)
  • Marek Napierala, Ph.D. (Movement Disorders)
  • Darin Okuda, M.D. (Neuroimmunology)
  • DaiWai Olson, Ph.D., RN (Neurocritical Care)
  • Juan Pascual, M.D., Ph.D. (Neurogenetics and Metabolic Disorders)
  • Roger Rosenberg, M.D. (Alzheimers)
  • Amber Salter, Ph.D. (Biostatistics)
  • Vikram Shakkottai, M.D., Ph.D. (Movement Disorders)
  • Olaf Stuve, M.D., Ph.D. (Neuroimmunology)
  • Peter Tsai, M.D., Ph.D. (Autism)
  • Steven Vernino, M.D., Ph.D. (Autonomic Disorders)
  • Ying Xian, M.D., Ph.D. (Stroke and Cerebrovascular)
  • Rong Zhang, Ph.D. (Cerebrovascular Disease )


The Department of Neurology Research Academy meets on the first Tuesday of each month. Scheduled presenters are expected to make a 15-20-minute presentation. The remainder of the time is for questions, feedback, and guidance from members. Early faculty, submitting their first NIH grants, are encouraged to present specific aims and research strategy at meetings prior to submission. After a presentation, junior faculty or trainees may be paired with one or more Research Academy members to help guide their project/grant application. Existing members are encouraged to present works in progress or grant applications to obtain feedback from research academy members.

If you would like to be scheduled to present your work, contact:

Benjamin Greenberg, M.D. |

Vikram Shakkottai, M.D. |