Skip to Main

Faculty

Faculty with Primary Appointments in Microbiology

Neal M. Alto, Ph.D.

Neal M. Alto, Ph.D.

Professor of Microbiology

Research interests: Intersection between human signal-transduction and bacterial pathogenesis; use of biochemical and cell biological analysis to define molecular mechanisms of microbial infectious disease.

Website: Alto Lab

neal.alto@utsouthwestern.edu

Spotlight on Neal

Xinyun (Sherry) Cao, Ph.D.

Xinyun (Sherry) Cao, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Microbiology

Research interests: Transcription and regulation in Clostridioides difficile and other bacterial species; structure and function of RNA polymerase; high-throughput screening of transcription inhibitors.

Website: Cao Lab

xinyun.cao@utsouthwestern.edu

Spotlight on Sherry

Nicholas K. Conrad, Ph.D.

Nicholas K. Conrad, Ph.D.

Professor of Microbiology

Research interests: Gene expression, RNA biogenesis, and RNA decay in the Kaposi's sarcoma-associated herpesvirus and its human host cell.

Website: Conrad Lab

nicholas.conrad@utsouthwestern.edu

Spotlight on Nick

Iván D’Orso, Ph.D.

Iván D’Orso, Ph.D.

Professor of Microbiology

Research interests: HIV-host interplay; mechanisms of transcription regulation, and evolution of viral-host macromolecular assemblies.

Website: D’Orso Lab

Ivan.Dorso@UTSouthwestern.edu

Spotlight on Ivan

Kevin Forsberg, Ph.D.

Kevin Forsberg, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Microbiology

Research interests: The molecular determinants of phage-bacterial infection outcomes; gene discovery; evolutionary arms races; origins of new function.

Website: Forsberg Lab

Kevin.Forsberg@UTSouthwestern.edu

Spotlight on Kevin

Don Gammon, Ph.D.

Don Gammon, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Microbiology

Research interests: Virus-Host interactions; invertebrate model systems; RNA/DNA virus replication; immune evasion and pathogenesis; viral manipulation of host cytoskeletal networks; virus co-infections.

Website: Gammon Lab

don.gammon@utsouthwestern.edu

Spotlight on Don

David R. Hendrixson, Ph.D.

David R. Hendrixson, Ph.D.

Professor of Microbiology

Research interests: Identification of bacterial virulence and colonization factors; regulation of flagellar organelle biosynthesis and division; analysis of bacterial signal transduction pathways.

Website: Hendrixson Lab

david.hendrixson@utsouthwestern.edu

Spotlight on Dave

Julie Pfeiffer, Ph.D.

Julie Pfeiffer, Ph.D.

Chair, Microbiology
Professor of Microbiology

Research interests: Virus-host interactions, pathogenesis, and evolution; virus-microbiota interactions; circadian control of viral infection.

Website: Pfeiffer Lab

julie.pfeiffer@utsouthwestern.edu

Spotlight on Julie

John W. Schoggins, Ph.D.

John W. Schoggins, Ph.D.

Professor of Microbiology

Research interests: Virus-host interactions; innate immunity to viral infections; interferon signaling pathways and effector mechanisms.

Website: Schoggins Lab

john.schoggins@utsouthwestern.edu

Spotlight on John

Chien-Ting Wu, Ph.D.

Chien-Ting Wu, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Microbiology

Research interests: Virus-host interaction in the nasal/oral epithelium; the interaction between metabolism and immunity; virus infections-induced tumorigenesis in the upper aerodigestive tract.

Website: Wu Lab

chien-ting.wu@utsouthwestern.edu

Spotlight on Chien-Ting

Faculty with Secondary Appointments in Microbiology

Chad A. Brautigam, Ph.D.

Chad A. Brautigam, Ph.D.

Professor, Biophysics and Microbiology

Research interests: Protein-protein and protein-ligand interactions; structural elucidation of enzymatic mechanisms.

Website: Brautigam Lab

chad.brautigam@utsouthwestern.edu

David Greenberg, M.D.

David Greenberg, M.D.

Professor, Internal Medicine and Microbiology

Research interests: Gram-negative infections in the immunocompromised host; host-pathogen interactions; novel therapeutics in Gram-negative infections.

david.greenberg@utsouthwestern.edu

Lora Hooper, Ph.D.

Lora Hooper, Ph.D.

Chair, Immunology
Professor of Immunology and Microbiology

Research interests: Host-microbial interactions; commensal bacteria; mucosal immunity.

Website: Hooper Lab

lora.hooper@utsouthwestern.edu

Jeffrey S. Kahn, M.D., Ph.D.

Jeffrey S. Kahn, M.D., Ph.D.

Chief, Division of Pediatric Infectious Disease
Professor of Pediatrics and Microbiology

Research Interests: Molecular epidemiology and biology of respiratory syncytial virus; newly emerging human viral pathogens.

Website: Kahn Lab

jeffrey.kahn@utsouthwestern.edu

Andrew Koh, M.D.

Andrew Koh, M.D.

Associate Professor of Pediatrics and Microbiology

Research Interests: Pathogenesis of Candida albicans and Pseudomonas aeruginosa; host-pathogen interactions.

Website: Koh Lab

andrew.koh@utsouthwestern.edu

Jessica Moreland, M.D.

Jessica Moreland, M.D.

Associate Dean for Faculty Development
Professor of Pediatrics and Microbiology

Research Interests: Cell biology of neutrophil-based inflammation under infectious and sterile inflammatory conditions, specifically focused on neutrophil priming by both host and bacterial stimuli; role of NAPDH oxidase 2 in signaling generated by TLR ligands and TNF; regulation of the NADPH oxidase function in neutrophils.

jessica.moreland@utsouthwestern.edu

Josephine Ni, M.D.

Josephine Ni, M.D.

Assistant Professor, Internal Medicine and Microbiology

Research Interests: Bacterial colonization of the healthy and inflamed intestinal tract; how biofilm formation contributes to intestinal colonization; developing new therapeutics to treat intestinal diseases.

Website: Ni Lab

Josephine.Ni@UTSouthwestern.edu

Robert Orchard, Ph.D.

Robert Orchard, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Immunology and Microbiology

Research Interests: Functional genomic CRISPR/Cas9 screens; mammalian physiology and immune responses to norovirus, influenza virus, and enterovirus.

Website: Orchard Lab

robert.orchard@utsouthwestern.edu

Tiffany A. Reese, Ph.D.

Tiffany A. Reese, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Immunology and Microbiology

Research Interests: Herpesviruses; parasite co-infection and viral reactivation and latency phenotypes.

Website: Reese Lab

tiffany.reese@utsouthwestern.edu

Michael Shiloh, M.D., Ph.D.

Michael Shiloh, M.D., Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Internal Medicine (Infectious Disease) and Microbiology

Research Interests: Mycobacterium tuberculosis pathogenesis; role of carbon monoxide (CO) in host-pathogen interactions; innate immune response to intracellular pathogens.

Website: Shiloh Lab

michael.shiloh@utsouthwestern.edu

Josephine Thinwa, M.D., Ph.D.

Josephine Thinwa, M.D., Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Internal Medicine and Microbiology

Research Interests: Host-viral pathogen interaction, neurotropic viruses, autophagy and innate immunity.

Website: Thinwa Lab

josephine.thinwa@utsouthwestern.edu

Nicolai S. C. van Oers, Ph.D.

Nicolai S. C. van Oers, Ph.D.

Professor of Immunology and Microbiology

Research Interests: Regulation of immune responses and host-pathogen interactions by microRNAs; characterization of patients with primary immunodeficiency diseases.

nicolai.vanoers@utsouthwestern.edu

Nan Yan, Ph.D.

Nan Yan, Ph.D.

Professor of Internal Medicine (Infectious Disease) and Microbiology

Research Interests: Innate immune recognition of HIV and other retroviruses; innate immune sensing of self vs non-self nucleic acids; pathogenesis of autoimmune diseases such as Aicardi-Goutieres syndrome and lupus.

Website: Yan Lab

nan.yan@utsouthwestern.edu

Emeritus Professors

Michael V. Norgard, Ph.D.

Michael V. Norgard, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus and Former Chair, Microbiology

Research interests: Regulation and roles of virulence-associated membrane lipoproteins in the Lyme disease spirochete, Borrelia burgdorferi; structure and function of membrane lipoproteins in the syphilis bacterium, Treponema pallidum.

Website: Norgard Lab

michael.norgard@utsouthwestern.edu

Ellen S. Vitetta, M.D., Ph.D.

Ellen S. Vitetta, M.D., Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus of Immunology and Microbiology

Research interests: Translational immunology; profiling and targeted therapy of human tumors; development and clinical testing of vaccines.

Website: Vitetta Lab

ellen.vitetta@utsouthwestern.edu