Skip to Main

Faculty and Research

Division Chief

Dr. Joel Elmquist

Joel Elmquist, D.V.M., Ph.D.

Professor and Vice Chair, Research

Carl H. Westcott Distinguished Chair in Medical Research

Maclin Family Distinguished Professorship in Medical Science, in Honor of Dr. Roy A. Brinkley

  • Education: D.V.M., Iowa State University; Ph.D., Anatomy, Iowa State University
  • Fellowship: Neuroscience, Harvard Medical School and Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center

Research Lab

Division Faculty

Dr. Mina Fujitani

Mina Fujitani, Ph.D.

Visiting Assistant Professor

Dr. Frankie Heyward

Frankie Heyward, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Dr. Chen Liu

Chen Liu, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Research Lab

Dr. Aaron Uner

Aaron Uner, Ph.D.


Dr. Kevin Williams

Kevin Williams, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Research Lab

Dr. Steven Wyler

Steven Wyler, Ph.D.


Dr. Young-Jai You

Young-Jai You, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Research Lab

Dr. Jeffrey Zigman

Jeffrey Zigman, M.D., Ph.D.

Professor, Internal Medicine and Psychiatry

  • Kent and Jodi Foster Distinguished Chair in Endocrinology, in Honor of Daniel Foster, M.D.
  • The Diana and Richard C. Strauss Professorship in Biomedical Research
  • Mr. and Mrs. Bruce G. Brookshire Professorship in Medicine

Research Lab

Secondary Appointments in Hypothalamic Research

Joyce Repa, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Research Lab