Cornea, Cataract, External Disease, and Keratorefractive Fellowship – Program 4273

Cornea Program Welcome

Virtual Tour of the Department of Ophthalmology

The intensive, clinical, post-residency specialty Cornea "Fellowship" Program is for physicians who plan to devote their future academic or private practice to this subspecialty area of ophthalmology. The program provides outstanding, hands-on experience in the seven major areas of corneal, keratorefractive, and anterior segment surgery and diseases, while credentialed as a faculty assistant instructor:

  • Corneal surgery, including penetrating keratoplasty alone, IntraLase-enabled keratoplasty (IEK), EK (DSAEK/DMEK) variants in combination with other anterior segment procedures such as combined glaucoma and cataract surgery, lamellar keratoplasty (DALK), and homologous or autologous keratoepithelioplasty limbal stem cell grafts, amniotic membrane grafts, temporary keratoprosthesis, and permanent keratoprosthesis;
  • External diseases, including the diagnosis and management of all types of infections, immune, traumatic, and protozoan diseases;
  • Contact lens, corneal topography, keratoconus, and management of lens-related complications;
  • Refractive surgery, including excimer laser (conventional, custom optimized, and wavefront-driven custom), PRK, PTK, LASIK, LASEK, IntraLase, intra-corneal rings (Intacs®), and management of surgically induced astigmatism; corneal cross-linking (CXL);
  • Eye banking methods and administration at our world-class Eye Bank;
  • Diagnostic confocal microscopy; anterior segment and other advanced imaging;
  • Small-incision, clear-corneal phacoemulsification cataract surgery, with new presbyopic and toric IOLs, and phakic IOLs.

Cornea fellowship Director R. Wayne Bowman, M.D., offers a detailed overview of the Cornea fellowship program and the advantages of applying.

Cornea Fellowship Director R. Wayne Bowman, M.D., and Associate Program Director William Waldrop, M.D., detail the advantages of the program at UT Southwestern.

Virtual Tour of the Department of Ophthalmology


Candidates must have successfully completed ACGME (or Canadian equivalent) accredited ophthalmology residency training and be eligible to obtain a full Texas medical license. U.S. citizenship or permanent resident status is required.

Application due date: To be announced

2024 Interview dates: To be announced

Stipend: PGY5, no less than $80,521

AUPO/Fellowship Compliance Committee accredited: Yes


Cornea Fellowship Program applicants must register and submit an application through the SFMatch. Interviews are required and granted by invitation only. 

Apply via SFMatch


The corneal faculty preceptors have active subspecialty practices covering all these areas. Participants have hands-on involvement in all cases, and are given the opportunity to perform many surgical procedures as primary surgeon, including phaco, PK, EK, PRK, LASIK, and wavefront-guided custom ablations. There is structured interaction with residents in a very busy, high-volume program that uses Parkland Hospital, the Dallas Veterans Affairs Medical Center, Children’s Health℠ Children’s Medical Center, and John Peter Smith Hospital in Fort Worth.