Faculty Mentors

Our faculty mentors are committed to sleep and circadian research as demonstrated by their international leadership, strong funding record (including current funding through NIH), and a strong commitment to the training of pre- and post-doctoral fellows.

In partnership with a faculty mentor, trainees will develop independent research programs that can span the gap from bench to bedside. Trainees will receive mentored experience in grant writing, communication, and publication of their research, as well as career counseling.

Before applying for the fellowship:

  • Click on a faculty member's name and lab website to learn more about his or her research.
  • Identify a faculty mentor whose research interests align with yours.
  • Contact the faculty member and discuss a potential research project.

Joseph Takahashi, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair, Department of Neuroscience

Lab Website: https://www.utsouthwestern.edu/labs/takahashi-joseph/

Joseph.Takahashi@UTSouthwestern.edu



Robert Greene, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor, Departments of Psychiatry and Neuroscience

Lab Website: https://www.utsouthwestern.edu/labs/greene/

RobertW.Greene@UTSouthwestern.edu



Kathleen Bell, M.D.
Professor and Chair, Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

Kathleen.Bell@UTSouthwestern.edu



Sherwood Brown, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Psychiatry

Sherwood.Brown@UTSouthwestern.edu


Marc Diamond, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Neurology, Director, Center for Alzheimer’s and Neurodegenerative Diseases

Lab Website: https://www.utsouthwestern.edu/labs/diamond/

Marc.Diamond@UTSouthwestern.edu


Carla Green, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Neuroscience

Lab Website: https://www.utsouthwestern.edu/labs/green-carla/

Carla.Green@UTSouthwestern.edu


Lora Hooper, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair, Department of Immunology, Center for Genetics of Host Defense, Microbiology

Lab Website:

Lora.Hooper@UTSouthwestern.edu


Genevieve Konopka, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Department of Neuroscience

Lab Website: http://www.konopkalab.org/

Genevieve.Konopka@UTSouthwestern.edu


Ron Mitchell, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor and Vice Chairman, Department of Otolaryngology, Head and Neck Surgery

Ron.Mitchell@UTSouthwestern.edu


Todd Roberts, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Department of Neuroscience

Lab Website: https://www.utsouthwestern.edu/labs/roberts/

Todd.Roberts@UTSouthwestern.edu


Beverly Rothermel, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Department of Internal Medicine, Division of Cardiology

Lab Website: https://www.utsouthwestern.edu/labs/rothermel/

Beverly.Rothermel@UTSouthwestern.edu


Lance Terada, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor and Division Chief, Department of Internal Medicine, Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine

Lab Website: https://www.utsouthwestern.edu/labs/terada/

Lance.Terada@UTSouthwestern.edu


Benjamin Tu, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Department of Biochemistry

Lab Website: http://www4.utsouthwestern.edu/tu_lab/

Benjamin.Tu@UTSouthwestern.edu


Shin Yamazaki, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Department of Neuroscience

Lab Website: https://www.utsouthwestern.edu/labs/yamazaki/

Shin.Yamazaki@UTSouthwestern.edu


Jeffrey Zigman, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Internal Medicine, Division of Endocrinology, and Department of Psychiatry

Lab Website: https://www.utsouthwestern.edu/labs/zigman/

Jeffrey.Zigman@UTSouthwestern.edu