Claus Roehrborn, M.D.

Professor and Chair, Department of Urology
E. E. Fogelson and Greer Garson Fogelson Distinguished Chair in Urology
S.T. Harris Family Chair in Medical Science, in Honor of John D. McConnell, M.D.

Portrait of Dr. Roehrborn

Claus Roehrborn, M.D., a world-renowned urologist and expert on cancerous prostate diseases, has been a faculty member of UT Southwestern’s Department of Urology since 1992 and is the longest serving Chair of the Department since 2002. Under Dr. Roehrborn’s leadership, the Department of Urology has grown to 35 MD providers, 15 midlevel providers, 75,000 outpatient clinic visits and 10,000 surgical procedures performed last calendar year. Over 5,000 of those procedures are performed at the Clements University Hospital which has been named the #1 (tied) best hospital in Texas and a top 20 hospital in the U.S. The Department has consistently been named among the nation’s best by U.S. News & World Report for the last decade.

Dr. Roehrborn’s practice focuses on the treatment of prostate cancer and benign prostatic hyperplasia (BPH). A national leader in robotic surgery, he has performed over 3,000 DaVinci robotic prostatectomies for prostate cancer, nearly 1,000 robotic prostatectomies for BPH and large numbers of other procedures for BPH such as transurethral resections, laser vaporization, and innovative procedures such as the Urolift, REZUM, and Aquablation, many of which he helped develop and refine.

Dr. Roehrborn’s research interests are in the areas of benign and malignant prostate diseases, including medical and minimally invasive therapies for BPH and markers for prostate cancer. His basic, translational, and clinical research has yielded more than 500 peer-reviewed publications, over 30 book chapters, and numerous other contributions to literature. In addition to lecturing around the world, he has chaired or participated in many postgraduate courses and has been a visiting professor at leading urological institutions in the United States, Europe, and Asia.

Dr. Roehrborn is on the editorial board of many peer-reviewed journals. He is associate editor of Urology and co-editor of the comprehensive and authoritative Textbook of BPH. He serves as a reviewer for many peer-reviewed journals in the field of urology. Currently, Dr. Roehrborn continues to be involved in virtually all aspects of BPH research as well as translational and clinical research in prostatitis and prostate cancer.

In 2010, Dr. Roehrborn was the recipient of the annual Patricia and William L. Watson, Jr., M.D., Award for Excellence in Clinical Medicine, which recognizes a UT Southwestern clinician whose work exemplifies a commitment to outstanding patient care and advancement of innovative medical therapy. The recipient of the award is chosen by a panel of colleagues and peers.

In 2021 he received the tri-annual Eugene Fuller Award from the American Urological Association (AUA) which is given every three years to a urologist for contribution to the understanding and treatment of diseases of the Prostate Gland.

In this honor he followed in the footstep of Dr. Jean Wilson and his immediate predecessor as Chair, Dr. John D. McConnell.