Welcome to UT Southwestern Medical School

At UT Southwestern Medical School, we offer a world-class medical education, renowned faculty, outstanding facilities, and a world-wide reputation for producing physicians and medical professionals who are:

  • Superbly trained
  • Inspired to maintain lifelong medical scholarship
  • Deeply committed to responsible and compassionate patient care

What We Do

"Before I began medical school, there was no doubt in my mind that UT Southwestern was one of the best medical schools in the country. I knew the education I would receive, the physicians I would meet, and the degree I would graduate with would open many doors for me."

– Caroline Carter, M.D.
Class of 2011

We produce graduates who are problem-solvers, not merely receptacles of knowledge. Students are engaged in a curriculum that offers strong basic-science preparation and extensive, meaningful clinical experiences. The educational mission is complemented by a broad research agenda that keeps UT Southwestern at the forefront of biomedical research.

At UT Southwestern, medical knowledge is more than an academic exercise. It’s real-world experience. Faculty, residents, and students annually provide direct care to nearly 91,000 hospitalized patients and oversee approximately 2 million outpatient visits.

Medical School Facts

UT Southwestern Rankings

  • Top 25% in both Research and Primary Care (U.S. News & World Report)
  • One of only 23 medical schools in the country in Top 25% in both categories

Other Medical School Facts

  • More than 1,500 Clinical Residents
  • Approximately 900 Medical Students spread across 4 years


  • 2,278 full-time; 266 part-time
  • 6 Nobel Prize winners
  • 19 Members of the Institute of Medicine
  • 21 Members of the National Academy of Sciences
  • 11 Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigators


  • 4 clinical training hospitals in the Southwestern Medical District
  • More than 1,800 beds
  • Parkland named one of America’s best by U.S. News & World Report for 18 consecutive years