Faculty with Secondary Appointments in Pharmacology

David Boothman, Ph.D.Email

The mission of Dr. Boothman's lab is to understand and exploit: I) TGFß1-induced epithelial-to-mesenchymal transition (EMT); ii) roles for Kub5/Hera and Xrn2 in RNA transcription termination, Artemis stabilization, and DSB repair; and iii) development of NQO1 bioactivatable drugs for cancer therapy.

Rolf Brekken, Ph.D.Lab Websiterolf.brekken@utsouthwestern.edu

We study the tumor microenvironment with an emphasis on ECM remodeling, angiogenesis, and immune reactivation.

Cell signalling diagram

Shawn Burgess, Ph.D.shawn.burgess@utsouthwestern.edu

Cheng-Ming Chiang, Ph.D.Lab Websitecheng-ming.chiang@utsouthwestern.edu

Joel Elmquist, D.V.M., Ph.D.Lab Websitejoel.elmquist@utsouthwestern.edu

Our research focuses on the functional neuroanatomy of the mammalian hypothalamus. We work mainly on the regulation of body weight homeostasis, food intake, and control of the autonomic nervous system. Our current projects involve investigating the central mechanisms underlying the actions of leptin, melanocortins, orexin, glucagon-like peptide 1, and serotonin.

Camille Falck, Ph.D.j.falck@utsouthwestern.edu

My lab applies the techniques of synthetic and bioorganic chemistry to problems of biochemical and medicinal relevance. Many projects involve collaborations with specialists in other disciplines.

Boning Gao, Ph.D.boning.gao@utsouthwestern.edu

Jinming Gao, Ph.D.Lab Websitejinming.gao@utsouthwestern.edu

Luc Girard, Ph.D.luc.girard@utsouthwestern.edu

John Hulleman, Ph.D.john.hulleman@utsouthwestern.edu

Jin Jiang, Ph.D.Lab Websitejin.jiang@utsouthwestern.edu

We study cell signaling mechanisms and genetic pathways that regulate embryonic development, adult tissue homeostasis, and regeneration.

Jane Johnson, Ph.D.Lab Websitejane.johnson@utsouthwestern.edu

Ralf Kittler • Lab Websiteralf.kittler@utsouthwestern.edu

Steven Kliewer, Ph.D.Lab Websitesteven.kliewer@utsouthwestern.edu

The Mango/Kliewer Lab is interested in understanding the physiologic role of nuclear hormone receptors and endocrine fibroblast growth factors in regulating metabolic processes. A further goal of our work is to exploit the signaling networks governed by these factors to discover novel therapeutic options for diseases such as atherosclerosis, cholestasis, obesity, cancer, and nematode parasitism.

W. Lee Kraus, Ph.D.Lab Websitelee.kraus@utsouthwestern.edu

The Kraus Lab is interested in the basic mechanisms of nuclear signaling and gene regulation by small molecules and how these signaling pathways relate to human physiology (e.g., reproduction, metabolism, cellular differentiation and development) and disease states (cancers, inflammation, stress).

Weibo Luo, Ph.D.Lab Websiteweibo.luo@utsouthwestern.edu

Weibo Luo, Ph.D.

We study the crosstalk of oxygen homeostasis and cancer epigenetics/metabolism.

John Minna, Ph.D.Lab Websitejohn.minna@utsouthwestern.edu

We define all of the molecular abnormalities (genetic and epigenetic) leading to lung cancer and from these identify the “acquired vulnerabilities” in the tumor cells that are new diagnostic and therapeutic targets for this important disease.

Margaret Phillips, Ph.D. • Lab Website • margaret.phillips@utsouthwestern.edu

We study the biochemistry of trypanosome and malaria parasites, with a focus on enzymology, structural biology, and drug discovery. Our target pathways are pyrimidine biosynthesis in Plasmodium falciparum and both polyamine biosynthesis and nucleotide metabolism in Trypanosoma brucei.

Cell signalling diagram

Rama Ranganathan, Ph.D.Lab Websiterama.ranganathan@utsouthwestern.edu

Jose Rizo-Rey • Lab Website • jose@arnie.swmed.edu

Bill Russ, Ph.D.william.russ@utsouthwestern.edu

Jonathan Terman, Ph.D.Lab Websitejonathan.terman@utsouthwestern.edu

Research in my laboratory focuses on better understanding the molecules and mechanisms that assemble axonal connections with a goal of utilizing this knowledge to encourage axons to reestablish their connections after trauma or disease.

Erdal Toprak, Ph.D.Lab Websiteerdal.toprak@utsouthwestern.edu

In our research group, we investigate genetic and molecular basis of phenotypic diversity observed in nature by using a range of methodologies such as whole genome sequencing, transcriptome analysis, fluidics, fluorescence, long-term evolution experiments, large-scale combinatorial mutagenesis, and computational methods.

Dawn Wetzel, M.D., Ph.D. • dawn.wetzel@utsouthwestern.edu

Angelique Whitehurst, Ph.D.Lab Websiteangelique.whitehurst@utsouthwestern.edu

The Whitehurst Lab uses RNAi-based functional genomics to identify gene products that support viability and/or modulate chemotherapeutic sensitivity in tumor cells. Using this strategy, we discovered that tumor cells can depend on aberrantly activated gametogenic genes for survival.

Christoph Zechner, M.D., Ph.D. • christoph.zechner@utsouthwestern.edu