Research Opportunities

The Medical Student Research Program is dedicated to providing opportunities for all medical students to engage in a variety of research activities – both basic and clinical – in conjunction with the faculty at UT Southwestern Medical Center. These projects will count toward an application for M.D. with Distinction in Research. 

Several avenues are available:

On-Campus Research Opportunities

Since our office cannot keep up with the plethora of research being done on campus, we have devised a list of research coordinators in different departments who are frequently looking for medical students for summer or year-long research projects.

Please feel free to contact them in you are interested in their research field. If the department you are interested in is not listed, contact the mentor you are interested in working with directly.

Age-Related Research

Craig Rubin, M.D.
Director, UT-MSTAR program
craig.rubin@utsouthwestern.edu

Raina Smith
Coordinator
raina.smith@utsouthwestern.edu

Family Medicine

Nora Gimpel, M.D.
Assistant Professor
nora.gimpel@utsouthwestern.edu

General Pediatrics

Glenn Flores, M.D., FAAP
Director, Division of General Pediatrics
glenn.flores@utsouthwestern.edu
Pediatric Research Opportunities 2015

Ophthalmology

Student Research Projects

Jennifer Roemer, M.P.H. 
Phone: 214-648-0347
jennifer.roemer@utsouthwestern.edu

Orthopaedic Surgery

Cindy Daniel
Manager, Clinical Research
cindy.daniel@utsouthwestern.edu

Pediatric Otolaryngology

Debra Weinberger, M.D.
Assistant Professor
debra.weinberger@utsouthwestern.edu

Pediatric Surgery

Lorrie Burkhalter, B.S., CCRC
Clinical Research Coordinator
Children's Medical Center
lorrie.burkhalter@childrens.com

Plastic Surgery

Debby Noble
Clinical Laboratory Manager
debby.noble@utsouthwestern.edu

Radiation Oncology

Susan Brown
Residency Program Coordinator
susan.brown@utsouthwestern.edu

Urology

Gary Lemack, M.D.
Professor, Urology and Neurology and Neurotheraputics
gary.lemack@utsouthwestern.edu

Allison Beaver
Research Coordinator
allision.beaver@utsouthwestern.edu