Newsmakers - February

Dr. David Euhus, associate professor of surgical oncology, has been named holder of the Marilyn R. Corrigan Distinguished Chair in Breast Cancer Surgery.

Dr. Euhus, director of the Mary L. Brown Breast Cancer Genetics and Risk Assessment Program in the Center for Breast Care, received his medical degree from St. Louis University School of Medicine and completed his surgical training at the University of California, Los Angeles, Medical Center in 1991.

Dr. Chandra Mohan, associate professor of internal medicine, was recently awarded $7 million in funding from the National Institutes of Health and other governmental agencies to research lupus. He and his colleagues received the funding following a Lupus Research Institute grant for 2001 through 2003.

Lupus is a chronic autoimmune disease that can attack virtually any organ or body system.

Most lupus patients have antibodies to DNA and other molecules in the cell nucleus, and these antibodies are clearly implicated in damage to the kidney. Not all lupus patients with such antibodies, however, develop kidney damage. Dr. Mohan is trying to find if there is a gene or combination of genes in lupus patients that determines the extent of destruction these antibodies do to the kidneys.

Dr. Philip Perlman, professor of molecular biology, has been named holder of the Roy and Christine Sturgis Chair in Biomedical Research.

Dr. Perlman is also the associate dean of the Southwestern Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences. The chair was created in 1993 by the Sturgis Charitable and Educational Trust.

The Dallas County Medical Society (DCMS) board of trustees honored UT Southwestern President Dr. Kern Wildenthal with the Max Cole Leadership Award at the group's annual dinner Jan. 31. The award recognizes a society member for outstanding service to the profession of medicine and the community.

"Dr. Wildenthal has created an environment of collaboration between the scientific and clinical communities, leading to improved quality of care for patients as well as the education of medical students," said DCMS president, Dr. Don R. Read. "The result is a strong sense of pride that we have the finest medical school in the world."

Dr. Wildenthal was recognized by TACA at its annual Silver Cup Award Luncheon Feb. 20 for his contributions to the development and support of the arts in Dallas. The luncheon was established to acknowledge two individuals annually for exceptional volunteer leadership in the performing arts. Dr. Wildenthal has served on the board of directors of the Dallas Opera, Dallas Symphony, Dallas Museum of Art and the Dallas Center for the Performing Arts. Also honored was Diane Brierley, a leading volunteer of the Dallas Symphony Association, the Dallas Theater Center, the Fort Worth-Dallas Ballet and the Dallas Opera. She and her husband endowed the Hal and Diane Brierley Chair in Biomedical Research at UT Southwestern.