Surgery resident service named to honor Laycock, McClelland

By Russell Rian

The Department of Surgery has renamed its surgical rotations for residents at
UT Southwestern University Hospital – St. Paul in honor of two of the department’s best-known surgeons and educators, Dr. Robert McClelland and Dr. Royce Laycock, both professors emeritus.

Dr. Royce Laycock (right) and Dr. Robert McClelland received plaques citing the new titles for surgery resident rotations, which are now named in their honor.

Resident rotations at the hospitals, currently simply tabbed A and B, will be renamed the Robert McClelland, M.D., Surgery Service and the Royce Laycock, M.D., Surgery Service. To avoid confusion with Parkland Memorial Hospital rotations, similarly tabbed A, B and C, the department decided to rename surgical services in honor of distinguished faculty.

“There were no two better people to name services after,” said Dr. Robert Rege, chairman of surgery.

UT Southwestern faculty and others from around the region gathered to honor the accomplishments of the two nationally renowned surgeons, who were residents together at UT Southwestern in 1961. Drs. Laycock and McClelland were instrumental in establishing the department’s national prestige over the past several decades. Both surgeons remain warmly regarded by former students, residents and fellow faculty members for their approachability and contributions to medical education.

“I’m extremely honored,” Dr. Laycock said. “I woke up every morning eager to get to work and to be associated with the best. It was a labor of love to work with the students. The residents helped keep me young.”

Dr. Laycock, who graduated from UT Southwestern Medical School in 1954 and completed a surgical residency at Parkland in 1961, joined the faculty in 1977. He served as interim chairman of surgery and twice as its vice chairman, and was chairman of the division of general surgery and interim chairman of the division of GI/endocrine surgery.

“I think of all of the residents and the students whom I’ve had a chance to help train as part of my family,” Dr. McClelland said. “I’m very pleased to be recognized like this. I’ve often said that I felt like I should pay to do what I’m allowed to do here, instead of being paid to do it. I appreciate the opportunity to do it.”

He completed his general surgery residency at Parkland and joined the faculty in 1962. He was first holder of the Alvin Baldwin Jr. Chair in Surgery, an endowment designated for support of surgical education, and was the originator and editor of Audio-Journal Review-General Surgery and Selected Readings in General Surgery.

blue bullet_square

Dr. Rege holds the Hall and Mary Lucile Shannon Distinguished Chair in Surgery.