Faculty Appointments — November 2009

Dr. Lazarus

Mary Lazarus, Psy.D., has joined the faculty as assistant professor of psychiatry. Her specialties include psychosocial and cross-cultural issues. Dr. Lazarus earned her doctor of psychology degree from Regent University in Virginia and completed a fellowship in pediatric psychology at Akron Children’s Hospital in Ohio.

 Dr. Liu

George Liu, D.P.M., has joined the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery as assistant professor. He is board certified in foot surgery and reconstructive rearfoot and ankle surgery, as well as podiatric orthopaedics and primary podiatric medicine. Dr. Liu was most recently part of a multispecialty practice and a clinical associate professor at the UT Health Science Center at San Antonio. He serves on the CME committee for the Texas Podiatric Medical Association.

His research interests include investigating articular cartilage biomechanics and its relationship to primary osteoarthritis, trauma, deformity correction and bone healing properties in Charcot arthropathy.

Dr. Liu received his professional degree from Temple University, completed a residency at the UT Health Science Center at San Antonio and did fellowships at Vittorio Emanuele University Hospital at University of Catania in Italy and Carl Gustav Carus University Hospital at the Dresden University in Germany.

 Dr. McClintock

Shawn McClintock, Ph.D., has joined the faculty as an assistant professor of psychiatry. Dr. McClintock’s research interests are the neurocognitive effects of major depressive disorder and neuro-stimulation therapies, including electroconvulsive therapy and magnetic seizure therapy.

Before his appointment, he was a National Institute of Mental Health postdoctoral research fellow at UT Southwestern and at Columbia University/New York State Psychiatric Institute. Dr. McClintock earned his doctorate from UT Southwestern. He is a current National Institutes of Health Clinical Research Scholar.

Dr. McKinney

Jeffrey McKinney, M.D., Ph.D., has joined the faculty as assistant professor of pediatrics and director of the pediatric residency program.

Before joining the faculty, Dr. McKinney was assistant professor of pediatrics and molecular microbiology at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis.

A 1988 Rhodes scholar, he earned his medical and doctoral degrees from the University of Iowa College of Medicine. He then completed his internship and residency in pediatrics at Yale-New Haven Children’s Hospital, followed by concurrent three-year fellowships in pediatric infectious diseases, as well as molecular, cellular and developmental biology at Yale University.

Dr. Sumpter

Kathryn Sumpter, M.D., has joined the faculty as assistant professor of pediatrics.

A 2003 graduate of UT Southwestern, Dr. Sumpter completed her residency in pediatrics followed by a three-year fellowship in pediatric endocrinology here. She received the Teaching Fellow of the Year award for pediatrics in 2007.

Dr. Sumpter’s research focuses on the use of immunomodulatory agents, substances that affect the immune system, in type 1 diabetes.

 Dr. Wang

Shusheng Wang, Ph.D., has joined the faculty as assistant professor of ophthalmology. Dr. Wang graduated with a master’s degree in cell biology from Peking University and earned his doctorate in developmental biology from Tulane University. He completed a fellowship with the UT Southwestern Department of Microbiology in 2009.

Dr. Wang’s laboratory is focused on deciphering how angiogenesis is regulated at transcriptional and post-trancriptional levels, with the goal of finding a therapeutic solution to vascular retinopathy. His research involves the role of microRNAs in vascular retinopathy and transcriptional control of angiogenesis and retinal diseases.

He has received awards for excellence in postdoctoral research at the Sixth Annual Postdoctoral Research Symposium in 2008 and a first place award for basic research at the 8th Annual Cardiovascular Research Symposium. He also garnered Outstanding Postdoctoral Fellowship Applicant Award from the American Heart Association Texas affiliate.