13 win recognition at 47th annual Medical Student Research Forum

Thirteen students were recognized for their work submitted for UT Southwestern’s 47th annual Medical Student Research Forum, held in January.

Each year, students are invited to submit abstracts of their research for review. This year, seven were selected to make oral presentations from among 82 who made submissions.

Keynote speaker Dr. Donald E. Wesson (second from left) and Medical Student Research Forum co-chairs Rebecca Adelagun (left) and Justin Chen (back row right) congratulate oral presenters (foreground from left) Saiqa Khan, Heather Copeland Hummel, Shinjita Das and Doan Dao and (background from left) Premal Bhavsar, Juanita Garces and Jerry Kalangara.

The students selected to give oral presentations and those whose posters were chosen were honored with plaques, certificates and cash awards.

The oral presenters and their topics and mentors were:

Saiqa Khan
, “Response of Anaplastic Thyroid Tumors to VEGF-Trap, an Anti-Angiogenic Agent.” Mentors: Drs. Ian Mitchell and Fiemu Nwariaku

Heather Copeland Hummel, “HDAC Inhibition and Autophagy in in vitro Cardiomyocyte Hypertrophy.” Mentors: Drs. Dian Cao and Joseph Hill

Jerry Kalangara, “Tissue-Engineered Universal Artificial Corneal Epithelium.” Mentors: Drs. Danielle Robertson and Dwight Cavanagh

Juanita Garces, “Resting-State Functional MRI in Traumatic Brain Injury Reveals Deficits in Connectivity of Limbic and Frontal Circuits.” Mentors: Drs. Ramon Diaz-Arrastia and Carlos Marquez de la Plata

Premal Bhavsar, “Observational Cohort Study of the Impact of Anemia and Transfusion on Outcome After Traumatic Brain Injury.” Mentors: Drs. Christopher J. Madden and Ramon Diaz-Arrastia

Doan Dao, NIDDK Medical Student Research Trainee Award Recipient, “Host Responses and Virologic Profiles in Patients With Acute Liver Failure Secondary to Acute Hepatitis B Virus Infection or Acute Exacerbation of Chronic HBV.” Mentors: Drs. R. Ann Word and William M. Lee

Shinjita Das, “Autophagic Processing of Polyubiquitinated Protein Aggregates During Unloading-Induced Cardiac Atrophy.” Mentors: Drs. Andrew Blagg and Joseph Hill

At the conclusion of the oral presentations, guest speaker Dr. Donald E. Wesson, vice dean of the Texas A&M College of Medicine and chief academic officer of Scott and White in Temple, Texas, delivered a presentation titled, “How Student Research Participation Makes for Better Physicians.”

Fifty-two students presented posters during the reception and poster session that followed the oral presentations.

Poster session awards went to:

Shinjita Das: Ventricular Unloading: Role of Cardiomyocyte Autophagy. Mentor: Dr. Joseph Hill

Chris Maroules: Coronary Sinus Flow Reserve in Response to Cold Pressor Stress in Healthy Women Using Velocity-Encoded Cine Spiral 3T MRI. Mentors: Drs. Alice Chang and Ron Peshock

Christopher McPhaul: Subcellular Localization and Metabolic Regulation of Patatin-Like Phospholipase 3 (Pnpla3), a Susceptibility Gene for Hepatic Steatosis. Mentor: Dr. Helen Hobbs

Jerry Kalangara: Tissue-Engineered Universal Artificial Corneal Epithelium. Mentors: Drs. Dwight Cavanagh and Danielle Robertson

Jaime Legendre: Safety and Satisfaction With Insulin Treatment in Patients With Newly Diagnosed Type 2 Diabetes. Mentor: Dr. Ildiko Lingvay

Aimee Hoyer: Measurement of the Anterior Fontanel in Term and Late Preterm Hispanic Neonates: Description of Normal Measurements and an Alternative Measurement Method. Mentor: Dr. Greg Jackson

Melissa Mathias: Pre-exposure Prophylaxis Prevents Intra-Venous HIV-1 Transmission. Mentors: Drs. J. Victor Garcia and Paul W. Denton

Danielle Moye: Chemical Genetic Dissection of Primordial Germ Cell Migratio. Mentor: Dr. James Amatruda