Foster receives AOA's Glaser teaching award

By Erin Prather Stafford

Dr. Daniel Foster, professor of internal medicine and holder of the John Denis McGarry, Ph.D., Distinguished Chair in Diabetes and Metabolic Research, has been awarded the Alpha Omega Alpha Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teaching Award.

Dr. Daniel Foster

The AOA established the award in 1988 to provide national recognition to faculty members who have distinguished themselves in medical student education. The only national honor medical society’s mission is to recognize and enhance professionalism, academic excellence, service and leadership within the profession.

“Having been inducted into the AOA as a medical student at UT Southwestern, this award is especially touching,” said Dr. Foster, who is headmaster of the Colleges at UT Southwestern.

He believes what one invests in students lasts. Dr. Foster recalls the moment a former student handed him a note when he stepped down as chair of internal medicine.  It said, “I am reminded of the gift you have given to me — the gift of your teaching.  Your enthusiasm and joy of teaching [and learning] is truly a gift which keeps on giving.”

Dr. Foster was chairman of the Department of Internal Medicine for just under 16 years, stepping down in November 2003. He continues to teach in lectures, conferences and on the wards at Parkland Memorial Hospital. 

He has received multiple teaching awards from UT Southwestern students, as well as the Upjohn Award as the Outstanding Educator in the Field of Diabetes and the Great Teacher Award from the National Institutes of Health. 

Dr. Foster is a member of the board of directors and is past-president of the Academy of Medicine, Engineering and Science of Texas.  He is also a member of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academies and a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

The AOA statement announcing the award noted that, “In teaching students to honor what one former student calls the ‘nobility’ of the medical profession, Dr. Foster leads by example as a researcher, teacher and ethicist.“