Longtime faculty take top honors at teaching awards

By Lin Lofley

Two longtime faculty members received top teaching honors at the recent Excellence in Education Awards ceremony, while a third accepted a new award for outstanding work on a geriatric education program.

In all, more than 50 faculty members were recognized by UT Southwestern Medical Center at the annual teaching award program, held at the A.W. Harris Faculty-Alumni Center and hosted by Dr. Greg Fitz, Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs, Provost, and Dean of the Medical School, and Dr. Stephen Cannon, Associate Dean for Undergraduate Medical Education.

Dr. George
Dr. James Wagner
Dr. Craig Rubin

Dr. George DeMartino, Professor of Physiology, received the Distinguished Basic Science Educator Award. Dr. James Wagner, Associate Dean for Student Affairs and Associate Professor of Internal Medicine, received the Distinguished Clinical Science Educator Award.

Dr. Craig Rubin, Professor of Internal Medicine, received the inaugural Innovation in Medical Education Award for his leadership in the UT Southwestern Aging and Geriatric Education (UT SAGE) program, a comprehensive initiative designed to increase geriatrics education throughout UT Southwestern. 

“I thought that we needed an award that goes beyond the traditional courses or clerkships and recognizes innovation in education,” said Dr. Cannon, also Professor of Neurology and Neurotherapeutics, “and among many possible honorees, Dr. Rubin stood out because of the success of UT SAGE.”

The program, supported by a generous grant from the Donald W. Reynolds Foundation and strong institutional support campuswide, uses an innovative curriculum that emphasizes patient safety and patient-centered care for the vulnerable elderly.

The UTSW teaching award program, launched in 2005, allows medical students to nominate and recognize outstanding work in preclinical and clinical instruction.


Dr. Cannon holds the Patricia A. Smith Distinguished Chair in Neuromuscular Disease Research, in honor of Gil Wolfe, M.D.

Dr. DeMartino holds the Robert W. Lackey Professorship in Physiology.

Dr. Fitz holds the Nadine and Tom Craddick Distinguished Chair in Medical Science, and the Atticus James Gill, M.D., Chair in Medical Science.

Dr. Rubin is Director of the Mildred Wyatt and Ivor P. Wold Center for Geriatric Care. He holds the Margaret and Trammell Crow Distinguished Chair in Alzheimer's and Geriatric Research, the Seymour Eisenberg Distinguished Professorship in Geriatric Medicine, and the Walsdorf Professorship in Geriatrics Research.