Newsmaker – January 2013

The Cornea Society recently bestowed its highest honor, the Castroviejo Medal, on Dr. James McCulley, Chairman of Ophthalmology. This award, which honors Dr. Ramon Castroviejo, a pivotal figure in corneal transplantation, is considered to be the subspeciality’s most prestigious award. As the award recipient, Dr. McCulley, also Professor of Ophthalmology, presented the Castroviejo Lecture at a joint symposium held during the annual American Academy of Ophthalmology meeting in Chicago. The award is presented annually to a cornea specialist who has made significant contributions to the field of cornea and external disease, and refractive surgery. Dr. McCulley, holder of The David Bruton, Jr. Chair in Ophthalmology and Director of the Jean H. and John T. Walter Jr. Center for Research in Age-Related Macular Degeneration, is the second faculty member to win the award in the last five years. Dr. H. Dwight Cavanagh, Clinical Professor of Ophthalmology, won it in 2009.