Special Interest Organizations

Addiction Medicine Student Interest Group

Founded in fall 2017, AM-SIG’s goal is to increase awareness of substance abuse, its repercussions, and opportunities available to help those affected.

Andriana Love andriana.love@utsouthwestern.edu
Christy Hinz christine.hinz@utsouthwestern.edu

Armed Forces LZ (AFLZ)

The Armed Forces LZ student organization is a community of UT Southwestern’s fighting men and women. It aims to be a resource for veterans, current service members, and members of the first responder community – both faculty and students – to meet, socialize, and otherwise support each other in academic and professional pursuits with particular emphasis on welcoming new members of the Southwestern family.

Andy Tran andrew.tran@utsouthwestern.edu
Marco Martinez marco.martinez@utsouthwestern.edu
Facebook UTSW Armed Forces LZ

Awareness for Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities (AIDD)

Founded in fall 2015, AIDD is a special interest organization which allows UT Southwestern medical students and members of the UT Southwestern community to learn more about those with an intellectual or developmental disability through direct interaction and fun volunteer activities. About one in six children has a developmental disability, and this means that those with some form of a developmental disability make up a large portion of our future patient population, young and old. AIDD provides volunteer opportunities for students to interact in a one-on-one fashion with individuals with various developmental disabilities in order to become more comfortable with this population and, thus, in the future, offer better health care to these individuals and their families. Lunch lectures will be scheduled so students can learn about the biological underpinnings of specific developmental disabilities as well as current research endeavors investigating therapies for various developmental disabilities. Students will also have the chance to hear from some UTSW clinicians who specialize in diagnosing and treating this population.

Sara Schultis sara.schultis@utsouthwestern.edu
Siobahn Evans Siobahn.Evans@utsouthwestern.edu

Biomedical Innovation

To provide medical students the tools and experience to recognize major healthcare needs, design innovative and effective biomedical solutions to address such needs, and to validate those solutions for continued development and commercial implementation.

Phillip Jarrett phillip.jarrett@utsouthwestern.edu
Emiliya Usheva emiliya.usheva@utsouthwestern.edu

Consulting Club

The Consulting Club aims to help students and trainees successfully navigate into management consulting, life science consulting, or other business-related careers.

Brandt Nichols Brandt.Nichols@utsouthwestern.edu
Dhruba Deb Dhruba.Deb@utsouthwestern.edu
Websites Facebook

Diversity & Inclusion Alliance (DIA)

Founded in summer 2015, DIA is committed to enhancing the learning environment for future health care providers to better serve our diverse population and proactively engage differences among colleagues and patients.

Paul Parisot paul.parisot@utsouthwestern.edu
Somto Okafor somtochi.okafor@utsouthwestern.edu

Return to Top

Health Advocacy Student Interest Group (HASIG)

Founded in spring 2017, we give students a forum to discuss the social, economic, and political determinants of health and health care and how we can be better advocates for our patients through education and activism.

Priyanka Gaur Priyanka.Gaur@utsouthwestern.edu
Rhoda Jiao rhoda.jiao@utsouthwestern.edu

Leaders in the Fight for Every Patient (LIFE)

Leaders in the Fight for Every Patient seeks to promote awareness of when life begins and naturally ends and to apply that understanding to the Hippocratic principle “do no harm” through educational meetings, thoughtful discussions, and community service. By valuing human life, we hope to become compassionate and honorable physicians. We believe that justice is served by acting in the interest of patients who may not be able to defend themselves and by evaluating our medical and social systems through the lens of respect for human life. We seek to demonstrate the beauty of this principle in a variety of contemporary issues and to explore its application in personal relationships and interactions with the community. Join us on Facebook.

Christian Berry Christian.Berry@utsouthwestern.edu
Tyler Morwood Tyler.Morwood@utsouthwestern.edu

Lymph Notes

The Lymph Notes, an a cappella group, provides a pleasant musical respite from the day-to-day rigors of medical education. For the group members, it creates strong bonds within the student body, and provides an outlet for creative musical expression. The process of running the group, rehearsing for shows, and performing at shows results in more well-rounded and versatile health professionals. Furthermore, the Lymph Notes provides the UT Southwestern community with an enhanced appreciation of the common values and beliefs that our society shares.

Georgia Shelton georgia.shelton@utsouthwestern.edu
Caroline Abe caroline.abe@utsouthwestern.edu

Medical Humanities Interest Group (MHIG)

The Medical Humanities Interest Group (MHIG) was founded in 2000 to promote student enjoyment of the humanities and to stimulate meaningful exploration of the humanities' contribution to medicine. The humanities encompass a broad variety of disciplines, including philosophy, literature, the visual and performing arts, ethics, history, and religion. MHIG is by no means just for experts: it is for all students who, in addition to their interest in becoming competent physicians, enjoy discussing the broader questions of the human condition.

In the fall of 2014, Scope: Medical Humanities Journal joined MHIG as one organization. Scope is UT Southwestern's online literary magazine featuring writing and art created on the UT Southwestern campus. The purpose of Scope is to provide an outlet for creative expression for all of those affiliated with the UT Southwestern community including students, faculty, and staff. The magazine will be available to the public as an online publication, but we expect the initial target audience to be the people who work and study at UT Southwestern. We hope the magazine serves as a vehicle for the sharing and communication of experiences in medicine, from patient care to medical research, through an artistic lens. We seek quality works, but also wish to encourage creativity and an atmosphere of openness. We hope the works published in Scope will promote more discussion, reflection, and sense of community at UT Southwestern.

Whitney Gao whitney.gao@utsouthwestern.edu
Kaitlin Valentine kaitlin.valentine@utsouthwestern.edu

Medical Students for Choice (MS4C)

Medical Students for Choice (MS4C) is dedicated to ensuring that women receive the full range of reproductive health care choices. MSFC recognizes that one of the greatest obstacles to safe and legal abortion is the absence of trained providers. We also work to encourage open-minded discussion about women’s issues and to encourage activism in government.

Maggie Leland margaret.leland@utsouthwestern.edu
Leslie Johnson leslie.johnson@utsouthwestern.edu

Men’s Health Interest Group

Founded in fall 2015, the Men’s Health Interest Group is open to all students with an interest in men’s health. November is prostate and testicular cancer awareness month. To raise money for prostate cancer research on campus, the Men’s Health Interest Group organizes the Beard and Mane Auction. Gallant men grow their beards (or whatever Mother Nature has graced them with) during the month of November and subsequently auction off the right to shave the beard in artistic and magnificent designs.

Jacob Khoury jacob.khoury@utsouthwestern.edu
Timothy Sotman timothy.sotman@utsouthwestern.edu

Note-o-chords

The Note-o-chords represents a network of musicians of all types in the UT Southwestern community. Our goal is to facilitate organization of recreational musical groups as well as public performances on campus and in healthcare settings. In the past two years members have performed at: the MS1 Anatomy Vigil, Clements University Hospital opening events, the St. Basil Catholic Society Annual Winter Concert, and Celebration of Cultures (Mariachi, Tango, and popular music groups). Our newest and largest group is a campus orchestra, organized in Spring of 2016, for which we are always looking for more musicians. Members have also organized small groups, including multiple chamber groups and a popular music group. We hope to expand performance and musical service opportunities, and we encourage musicians on campus to contact us with their ideas.

Christa DeFries Christa.defries@utsouthwestern.edu
David Cho david.cho@utsouthwestern.edu

Operation Smile Student Organization (OSSO)

Founded in spring 2011, Operation Smile Student Organization works to raise awareness about facial deformities and their effects on patients in different international cultures. We provide guest lectures on interesting topics related to plastic surgery, pediatrics, and facial deformities. OSSO plans to provide opportunities for students to be involved in international medical service trips.

Shelly Xie Shelly.Xie@utsouthwestern.edu
Madeline Cullins Madeline.Cullins@utsouthwestern.edu

Palliative Care Interest Group

Founded in Spring 2011, the Palliative Care Interest Group is a student-run organization that aims to increase awareness of the issues related to end-of-life care and the practice of palliative medicine. Our mission is to provide direct experience, exposure and participation in this field as a medical student, as well as to provide academic exposure through faculty contact.

Sandra Garcia sandra.garcia@utsouthwestern.edu
Sadia Karani sadia.karani@utsouthwestern.edu

PRIDE

PRIDE (formerly known as GEMS) is a student organization for LGBTQ+ students and allies seeking to educate the UTSW Medical Center community about health concerns that disproportionately affect lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender persons. In educating and increasing awareness within the school community, PRIDE strives to create a more visible LGBTQ+ presence on campus and provide educational opportunities to ensure future physicians are prepared to address the unique health challenges of this diverse patient population with confidence and compassion.

Gabby Hanco Gabriela.Hanco@utsouthwestern.edu
Analise Doney Analise.Doney@utsouthwestern.edu

Return to Top

Sexuality Alliance for Scientists (SAS)

The SAS organization seeks to promote and serve the LGBTQ+ graduate students and postdoctoral scholars of UTSW by providing a welcoming and safe environment. The SAS organization will enhance awareness of the issues and situations the LGBTQ+ UTSW community encounters in the workplace. Furthermore, we will serve the broader Dallas community as representatives of UTSW and its mission by participating in scientific outreach events and highlighting research performed at UTSW. We will also participate in community outreach activities to promote the UTSW support of the LGBTQ+ community. We welcome all UTSW students and trainees to participate in our events.

Wesley Burford wesley.burford@utsouthwestern.edu
Clinton Taylor clinton.taylor@utsouthwestern.edu

Southwestern Student Connection (SSC)

It is the goal of the Southwestern Student Connection to increase interest among undergraduate students in the medical profession serving as a liaison between pre-health programs in the Metroplex and UT Southwestern medical students.

So-Youn Park so-youn.park@utsouthwestern.edu
Kinjal Mehta kinjal.mehta@utsouthwestern.edu

Spanish Interpreter Apprenticeship Program

Throughout hospitals and clinics in the United States, Spanish has become an essential tool for communicating with patients. Many UT Southwestern students speak Spanish at an advanced level but recognize the need to expand their Spanish-language medical vocabulary and to develop bilingual communication skills unique to clinical settings. In order to prepare students for effective communication with Limited English Proficiency (LEP) patients, SIAP hopes to give students an opportunity to develop basic skills in medical interpreting in Spanish.

Caleb Ashbrook caleb.ashbrook@utsouthwestern.edu
Jennifer Gueler jennifer.gueler@utsouthwestern.edu

Students for a National Health Program (SNaHP)

Founded at UT Southwestern in summer 2015, Students for a National Health Program (SNaHP) is a national medical student organization that advocates for expanded health care access in the U.S. Our UTSW Chapter will be educating our student body about health care reform and the single payer option, as well as organizing local advocacy events. This group will also serve as an avenue for any students that want to get more involved in the cause on a national level through travel-funded conferences and activism events. As future physicians, we feel obligated to stand up for our patients and help eliminate health disparities in our country.

Van Dang van.dang@utsouthwestern.edu
Daniel Mejia daniel.mejia@utsouthwestern.edu

STD Lectures 

Gabby Hanco Gabriela.Hanco@utsouthwestern.edu
Nisha Reddy Nisha.Reddy@utsouthwestern.edu

V-Day Student Org

The V-Day Student Organization is part of the global campaign dedicated to raising awareness about gender violence by means of performing Eve Ensler’s “The Vagina Monologues” and raising funds for a UTSW-affiliated gender violence cause (be it research or a shelter).  We also aim to provide a means of support, encouragement, advice, and friendship among the female population at UTSW.

Lindsay Brettmann Lindsay.Brettmann@utsouthwestern.edu
Hayley Hamilton hayley.hamilton@utsouthwestern.edu

Wilderness Medicine Society (WMS)

WMS’s purpose is to expose people to the wilderness, discuss medicine in low-resource and wilderness contexts, and provide an opportunity for students and faculty to interact outside the school environment. We are devoted to camping, hiking, and all things outdoors. We are open to all members of the UT Southwestern community regardless of academic program or career plans.

Cooper Mellema cooper.mellema@utsouthwestern.edu
Joshua Reichers joshua.reichers@utsouthwestern.edu

Women’s Health Enrichment Elective (WHEE)

The Women’s Health Enrichment Organization, founded in 2014, was established to provide an elective to prepare physicians in training to make informed decisions regarding patients that experience health issues linked to any women’s health related topics. This means we seek to fill any gaps in the established curriculum that are not discussed in detail. We further aim to emphasize patient informed consent, autonomy, and safety in topics pertaining to women’s health as well as physician information.

Bailey Shepherd bailey.shepherd@utsouthwestern.edu
Danielle Collado danielle.collado@utsouthwestern.edu

Return to Top