Special Interest Organizations

Armed Forces LZ (AFLZ)

The Armed Forces LZ student organization is a community of UT Southwestern’s fighting men and women. It aims to be a resource for veterans and current service members – both faculty members and students – to meet, socialize, and otherwise support each other in academic and professional pursuits with particular emphasis on welcoming new members of the Southwestern family.

Mark Sakai Mark.Sakai@utsouthwestern.edu
Aron Adler aron.adler@utsouthwestern.edu%20

Awareness for Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities (AIDD)

Founded in fall 2015, AIDD is a special interest organization which allows UT Southwestern medical students and members of the UT Southwestern community to learn more about those with an intellectual or developmental disability through direct interaction and fun volunteer activities. About one in six children has a developmental disability, and this means that those with some form of a developmental disability make up a large portion of our future patient population, young and old. AIDD provides volunteer opportunities for students to interact in a one-on-one fashion with individuals with various developmental disabilities in order to become more comfortable with this population and, thus, in the future, offer better health care to these individuals and their families. Lunch lectures will be scheduled so students can learn about the biological underpinnings of specific developmental disabilities as well as current research endeavors investigating therapies for various developmental disabilities. Students will also have the chance to hear from some UTSW clinicians who specialize in diagnosing and treating this population.

Sara Schultis Sara.Schultis@utsouthwestern.edu
Siobahn Evans Siobahn.Evans@utsouthwestern.edu

Diversity & Inclusion Alliance (DIA)

Founded in summer 2015, DIA is committed to enhancing the learning environment for future healthcare providers to better serve our diverse population and proactively engage differences among colleagues and patients.

Jean Claire Powe Jean-Claire.Powe@utsouthwestern.edu
Morgan Whalon Morgan.Whalon@utsouthwestern.edu

Gender Equality Medical Society (GEMS)

The Gender Equality Medical Society (GEMS) seeks to increase awareness and educate the UT Southwestern Medical Center community about health concerns that disproportionately affect lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender persons compared to their heterosexual peers. As indicated by a recent study published in the Journal of the American Medical Association, future physicians are not generally exposed to LGBT issues even though they are likely to deal with them when treating patients (Obedin-Maliver et al., 2011). In educating and increasing awareness within the school community, GEMS strives to produce future physicians and allied health professionals who are sensitive to the cultural aspects of their LGBT patients’ lives, who are educated and knowledgeable in terms of the health concerns that disproportionately affect LGBT individuals, and, consequently, who are comfortable with and prepared to address these health concerns with their LGBT patients in a competent and compassionate manner.

David Mendez David.Mendez@utsouthwestern.edu
Jeff SoRelle Jeff.Sorelle@utsouthwestern.edu

Return to Top

Leaders in the Fight for Every Patient (LIFE)

Leaders in the Fight for Every Patient seeks to promote awareness of when life begins and naturally ends and to apply that understanding to the Hippocratic principle “do no harm” through educational meetings, thoughtful discussions, and community service. By valuing human life, we hope to become compassionate and honorable physicians. We believe that justice is served by acting in the interest of patients who may not be able to defend themselves and by evaluating our medical and social systems through the lens of respect for human life. We seek to demonstrate the beauty of this principle in a variety of contemporary issues and to explore its application in personal relationships and interactions with the community. Join us on Facebook.

Christian Berry Christian.Berry@utsouthwestern.edu
Tyler Morwood Tyler.Morwood@utsouthwestern.edu

Lymph Notes

The Lymph Notes, an a cappella group, provides a pleasant musical respite from the day-to-day rigors of medical education. For the group members, it creates strong bonds within the student body, and provides an outlet for creative musical expression. The process of running the group, rehearsing for shows, and performing at shows results in more well-rounded and versatile health professionals. Furthermore, the Lymph Notes provides the UT Southwestern community with an enhanced appreciation of the common values and beliefs that our society shares.

Austin Moore Austin.Moore@utsouthwestern.edu
Vidya Bondada Vidya.Bondada@utsouthwestern.edu

Medical Humanities Interest Group (MHIG)

The Medical Humanities Interest Group (MHIG) was founded in 2000 to promote student enjoyment of the humanities and to stimulate meaningful exploration of the humanities' contribution to medicine. The humanities encompass a broad variety of disciplines, including philosophy, literature, the visual and performing arts, ethics, history, and religion. MHIG is by no means just for experts: it is for all students who, in addition to their interest in becoming competent physicians, enjoy discussing the broader questions of the human condition.

Beginning fall of 2014, Scope: Medical Humanities Journal will join MHIG as one organization. Scope is UT Southwestern's online literary magazine featuring writing and art created on the UT Southwestern campus. The purpose of Scope is to provide an outlet for creative expression for all of those affiliated with the UT Southwestern community including students, faculty, and staff. The magazine will be available to the public as an online publication, but we expect the initial target audience to be the people who work and study at UT Southwestern. We hope the magazine serves as a vehicle for the sharing and communication of experiences in medicine, from patient care to medical research, through an artistic lens. We seek quality works, but also wish to encourage creativity and an atmosphere of openness. We hope the works published in Scope will promote more discussion, reflection, and sense of community at UT Southwestern.

Benjamin Weia Benjamin.Weia@utsouthwestern.edu
Mishi Bhushan Mishi.Bhushan@utsouthwestern.edu

Medical Students for Choice (MS4C)

Medical Students for Choice (MS4C) is dedicated to ensuring that women receive the full range of reproductive health care choices. MSFC recognizes that one of the greatest obstacles to safe and legal abortion is the absence of trained providers. We also work to encourage open-minded discussion about women’s issues and to encourage activism in government.

Allison Johnson Leslie.Johnson@utsouthwestern.edu
Mary Kramer mary.kramer@utsouthwestern.edu%20

Men’s Health Interest Group

Founded in fall 2015, the Men’s Health Interest Group is open to all students with an interest in men’s health.  November is prostate and testicular cancer awareness month.  To raise money for prostate cancer research on campus, the Men’s Health Interest Group organizes the Beard and Mane Auction.  Gallant men grow their beards (or whatever Mother Nature has graced them with) during the month of November and subsequently auction off the right to shave the beard in artistic and magnificent designs.

Timothy Sotman Timothy.Sotman@utsouthwestern.edu
Tommy Das Thomas.Das@utsouthwestern.edu

Operation Smile Student Organization (OSSO)

Founded in spring 2011, Operation Smile Student Organization works to raise awareness about facial deformities and their effects on patients in different international cultures.  We provide guest lectures on interesting topics related to plastic surgery, pediatrics, and facial deformities. OSSO plans to provide opportunities for students to be involved in international medical service trips.

Shelly Xie Shelly.Xie@utsouthwestern.edu
Madeline Cullins Madeline.Cullins@utsouthwestern.edu

Palliative Care Interest Group

Founded in Spring 2011, the Palliative Care Interest Group is a student-run organization that aims to increase awareness of the issues related to end-of-life care and the practice of palliative medicine. Our mission is to provide direct experience, exposure and participation in this field as a medical student, as well as to provide academic exposure through faculty contact.

Antonieta Rueda Antonieta.Rueda@utsouthwestern.edu
Maggie Smith Margret.Smith@utsouthwestern.edu

Return to Top

Recycling Club

We are committed to developing an environmentally friendly and energy-efficient community. We work with the administration to increase recycling efforts and aim to raise awareness in the community.

Ying Li ying.li@utsouthwestern.edu

Science Policy, Education and Communication Club

The Science Policy, Education and Communication Club (SPEaC) is an interest group comprised of graduate students, postdocs, and medical students. Our primary goals are to advocate for political issues and to promote the discussion of science policy topics on campus and among our peers. Through our blog, we hope to engage in the national political conversation by discussing the outcomes of political issues and the actual science being affected by these issues. In addition, we hope to enhance the communication skills of students on campus by providing resources for career networking and seminars for translating science to different audiences.

TJ Calder thomas.calder@utsouthwestern.edu
Chris Hensley chris.hensley@utsouthwestern.edu

Students for a National Health Program (SNaHP)

Founded at UT Southwestern in summer 2015, Students for a National Health Program (SNaHP) is a national medical student organization that advocates for expanded healthcare access in the US. Our UTSW Chapter will be educating our student body about healthcare reform and the single payer option, as well as organizing local advocacy events. This group will also serve as an avenue for any students that want to get more involved in the cause on a national level through travel-funded conferences and activism events. As future physicians, we feel obligated to stand up for our patients and help eliminate health disparities in our country.

Jerome Jeevarajan Jerome.Jeevarajan@utsouthwestern.edu
Rachel Brenner Rachel.Brenner@utsouthwestern.edu

Southwestern Student Connection (SSC)

It is the goal of the Southwestern Student Connection to increase interest among undergraduate students in the medical profession serving as a liaison between pre-health programs in the Metroplex and UT Southwestern medical students.

Megan Hermann Megan.Hermann@utsouthwestern.edu
Michael Heffler Michael.Heffler@utsouthwestern.edu

Spanish Interpreter Apprenticeship Program

Throughout hospitals and clinics in the United States, Spanish has become an essential tool for communicating with patients.  Many UT Southwestern students speak Spanish at an advanced level but recognize the need to expand their Spanish-language medical vocabulary and to develop bilingual communication skills unique to clinical settings.  In order to prepare students for effective communication with Limited English Proficiency (LEP) patients, SIAP hopes to give students an opportunity to develop basic skills in medical interpreting in Spanish.

Miles Black Miles.Black@utsouthwestern.edu
Alexis Kropf Alexis.Kropf@utsouthwestern.edu

Students Educating Adult Minority Societies (SEAMS)

SEAMS, founded in 2012, targets populations that often fall through the cracks – people who are older, in lower socioeconomic brackets, or members of ethnic minorities. Our goal is a health fair (called Health for Life) designed specifically for these populations. Volunteers would go out into the community to teach basic health and nutrition to people who stand to gain the most from it. We will focus on teaching the community about different health problems, including heart disease and diabetes.

Andres Guerra Andres.Guerra@utsouthwestern.edu
Prakash Gajera Prakash.Gajera@utsouthwestern.edu

V-Day Student Org

The V-Day Student Organization is part of the global campaign dedicated to raising awareness about gender violence by means of performing Eve Ensler’s “The Vagina Monologues” and raising funds for a UTSW-affiliated gender violence cause (be it research or a shelter).  We also aim to provide a means of support, encouragement, advice, and friendship among the female population at UTSW.

Lindsay Brettmann Lindsay.Brettmann@utsotuhwestern.edu
Sandra Ngo Sandra.Ngo@utsouthwestern.edu

Wilderness Medicine Society (WMS)

WMS’s purpose is to expose people to the wilderness, discuss medicine in low-resource and wilderness contexts, and provide an opportunity for students and faculty to interact outside the school environment.  We are devoted to camping , hiking, and all things outdoors.  We are open to all members of the UT Southwestern community regardless of academic program or career plans.

Tommy Das
Anjali Nambiar Anjali.Nambiar@utsouthwestern.edu

Women’s Health Enrichment Elective (WHEE)

The Women’s Health Enrichment Organization, founded in 2014, was established to provide an elective to prepare physicians in training to make informed decisions regarding patients that experience health issues linked to any women’s health related topics.  This means we seek to fill any gaps in the established curriculum that are not discussed in detail.  We further aim to emphasize patient informed consent, autonomy and safety in topics pertaining to women’s health as well as physician information.

Robin Vest
Meredith Rosenthal

Return to Top