Special Interest Organizations

Armed Forces LZ (AFLZ)

The Armed Forces LZ student organization is a community of UT Southwestern’s fighting men and women.  It aims to be a resource for veterans and current service members – both faculty and students – to meet, socialize, and otherwise support each other in academic and professional pursuits with particular emphasis on welcoming new members of the Southwestern family.

Brian Hawkins brian.hawkins@utsouthwestern.edu

Colleges Against Cancer

Colleges Against Cancer is a nationwide collaboration of college students, faculty, and staff dedicated to fighting cancer, volunteering for the American Cancer Society, and improving college communities by instating and supporting programs of the American Cancer Society.

Gerardo Altamirano gerarado.altamirano@utsouthwestern.edu
Lauren Perrin lauren.perrin@utsouthwestern.edu

Gender Equality Medical Society (GEMS)

The Gender Equality Medical Society (GEMS) seeks to increase awareness and educate the UT Southwestern Medical Center community about health concerns that disproportionately affect lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender persons compared to their heterosexual peers. As indicated by a recent study published in the Journal of the American Medical Association, future physicians are not generally exposed to LGBT issues even though they are likely to deal with them when treating patients (Obedin-Maliver et al., 2011). In educating and increasing awareness within the school community, GEMS strives to produce future physicians and allied health professionals who are sensitive to the cultural aspects of their LGBT patients’ lives, who are educated and knowledgeable in terms of the health concerns that disproportionately affect LGBT individuals, and, consequently, who are comfortable with and prepared to address these health concerns with their LGBT patients in a competent and compassionate manner.

Jeff SoRelle jeff.sorelle@utsouthwestern.edu
Laurie Seidel laurie.seidel@utsouthwestern.edu

Global Health Interest Group (GHIG)

GHIG was founded to foster a community of students, faculty, and staff at UT Southwestern dedicated to raising awareness of global health issues. We aim is to increase accessibility, mentorship, and resources for those interested in pursuing opportunities abroad (whether in service, research or education). We also strive to generate interest among the medical school community in varied global health issues through discussion and education.

Diana Pham diana.pham@utsouthwestern.edu
Xuan Yao xuan.yao@utsouthwestern.edu

Return to Top

Leaders in the Fight for Every Patient (LIFE)

Leaders in the Fight for Every Patient seeks to promote awareness of when life begins and naturally ends and to apply that understanding to the Hippocratic principle “do no harm” through educational meetings, thoughtful discussions, and community service. By valuing human life, we hope to become compassionate and honorable physicians. We believe that justice is served by acting in the interest of patients who may not be able to defend themselves and by evaluating our medical and social systems through the lens of respect for human life. We seek to demonstrate the beauty of this principle in a variety of contemporary issues and to explore its application in personal relationships and interactions with the community.

Elaine Nguyen elaine.nguyen@utsouthwestern.edu
Vincent Zimmern vincent.zimmern@utsouthwestern.edu

Lymph Notes

The Lymph Notes, an a cappella group, provides a pleasant musical respite from the day-to-day rigors of medical education. For the group members, it creates strong bonds within the student body, and provides an outlet for creative musical expression. The process of running the group, rehearsing for shows, and performing at shows results in more well-rounded and versatile health professionals. Furthermore, the Lymph Notes provides the UT Southwestern community with an enhanced appreciation of the common values and beliefs that our society shares.

Joe Lopez joe.lopez@utsouthwestern.edu
Lakshman Manjunath lakshman.manjunath@utsouthwestern.edu

Medical Humanities Interest Group

The Medical Humanities Interest Group (MHIG) was founded in 2000 to promote student enjoyment of the humanities and to stimulate meaningful exploration of the humanities' contribution to medicine. The humanities encompass a broad variety of disciplines, including philosophy, literature, the visual and performing arts, ethics, history, and religion. MHIG is by no means just for experts: it is for all students who, in addition to their interest in becoming competent physicians, enjoy discussing the broader questions of the human condition. Beginning fall of 2014, Scope: Medical Humanities Journal will join MHIG as one organization. Scope is UT Southwestern's online literary magazine featuring writing and art created on the UT Southwestern campus. The purpose of Scope is to provide an outlet for creative expression for all of those affiliated with the UT Southwestern community including students, faculty, and staff. The magazine will be available to the public as an online publication, but we expect the initial target audience to be the people who work and study at UT Southwestern. We hope the magazine serves as a vehicle for the sharing and communication of experiences in medicine, from patient care to medical research, through an artistic lens. We seek quality works, but also wish to encourage creativity and an atmosphere of openness. We hope the works published in Scope will promote more discussion, reflection, and sense of community at UT Southwestern.

Shelly Xie shelly xie@utsouthwestern.edu
Heidi Kim heidi.kim@utsouthwestern.edu

Medical Students for Choice

Medical Students for Choice (MS4C) is dedicated to ensuring that women receive the full range of reproductive health care choices. MSFC recognizes that one of the greatest obstacles to safe and legal abortion is the absence of trained providers. We also work to encourage open-minded discussion about women’s issues and to encourage activism in government.

Nistha Jajal nistha.jajal@utsouthwestern.edu
Colleen Menegaz colleen.menegaz@utsouthwestern.edu

Note-o-chords

We strive to provide a network for musicians in the UT Southwestern community, to promote music played in small-ensemble formats, and to enrich the UT Southwestern and Dallas communities through musical performances.

Christa DeFries christa.defries@utsouthwestern.edu
Lindsay Brettmann lindsay.brettmann@utsouthwestern.edu

Operation Smile Student Organization (OSSO)

Founded in Spring 2011, Operation Smile Student Organization works to raise awareness about facial deformities and their effects on patients in different international cultures.  We provide guest lectures on interesting topics related to plastic surgery, pediatrics, and facial deformities.  OSSO organizes one major fundraiser per semester.  Lastly, OSSO works to assist students in applying for the official international Operation Smile MS4 elective.

Kisan Parikh kisan.parikh@utsouthwestern.edu
Vivian Zhu vivian.zhu@utsouthwestern.edu

Palliative Care Interest Group

Founded in Spring 2011, the Palliative Care Interest Group is a student-run organization that aims to increase awareness of the issues related to end-of-life care and the practice of palliative medicine. Our mission is to provide direct experience, exposure and participation in this field as a medical student, as well as to provide academic exposure through faculty contact.

Debbie Saddington debbie.saddington@utsouthwestern.edu
Morgan Ritz morgan.ritz@utsouthwestern.edu

Return to Top

Recycling Club

We are committed to developing an environmentally friendly and energy-efficient community. We work with the administration to increase recycling efforts and aim to raise awareness in the community.

Ashley Anderson ashley.anderson@utsouthwestern.edu
Ying Li ying.li@utsouthwestern.edu

Science Policy, Education and Communication Club

The Science Policy, Education and Communication Club (SPEaC) is an interest group comprised of graduate students, post docs, and medical students. Our primary goals are to advocate for political issues and to promote the discussion of science policy topics on campus and among our peers. Through our blog, we hope to engage in the national political conversation by discussing the outcomes of political issues and the actual science being affected by these issues. In addition, we hope to enhance the communication skills of students on campus by providing resources for career networking and seminars for translating science to different audiences.

TJ Calder thomas.calder@utsouthwestern.edu
Chris Hensley chris.hensley@utsouthwestern.edu

Southwestern Student Connection

It is the goal of the Southwestern Student Connection to increase interest among undergraduate students in the medical profession serving as a liaison between pre-health programs in the Metroplex and UT Southwestern medical students.

Jared Morphew jared.morphew@utsouthwestern.edu
Astrud Villareal astrud.villareal@utsouthwestern.edu

Spanish Interpreter Apprenticeship Program

This organization aims to eliminate language and cultural barriers between physicians and patients by teaching students the proper Spanish medical jargon and cultural context with which one can better communicate. Students will learn the art of interpreting through mock and real medical scenarios provided in class and in community volunteering events.

Andres Guerra andres.guerra@utsouthwestern.edu
Ramon Ramirez ramon.ramirez@utsouthwestern.edu

Students Educating Adult Minority Societies (SEAMS)

SEAMS, founded in 2012, targets populations that often fall through the cracks – people who are older, in lower socioeconomic brackets, or members of ethnic minorities. Our goal is a health fair (called Health for Life) designed specifically for these populations. Volunteers would go out into the community to teach basic health and nutrition to people who stand to gain the most from it. We will focus on teaching the community about different health problems, including heart disease and diabetes.

Andres Guerra andres.guerra@utsouthwestern.edu
Prakash Gajera prakash.gajera@utsouthwestern.edu

Ultrasound Interest Group

Founded in fall 2014, the Ultrasound Interest Group's primary goal is to raise ultrasound awareness at UT Southwestern for medical students and faculty. We hope to improve student access to ultrasound machines and provide monthly workshops that focus on various types of ultrasound (US) exams and skills.

Arielle King arielle.king@utsouthwestern.edu
Chris Leba christopher.leba@utsouthwestern.edu

Video Streaming

To serve as a tool to enhance the learning environment of the MS1 and MS2 year by providing video-streamed lectures for students to view online.

Sam Jeong sam.jeong@utsouthwestern.edu
Tyler McDonald tyler.mcdonald@utsouthwestern.edu

Return to Top