Service Organizations

Brown Bag Initiative

The Brown Bag initiative is an organization created with the purpose of preparing and distributing brown bags full of items of need and literature about local resources to the Dallas homeless population. We partner with social workers at the Dallas Police Department Crisis Intervention Unit to better serve the homeless population’s immediate needs as they begin the process of rehabilitation and assimilation into larger society.

Scott Gorthey scott.gorthey@utsouthwestern.edu
Morgan Ritz morgan.ritz@utsouthwestern.edu

Clinic Allies

Clinic Allies aims to connect medical students with local charitable clinics. There are approximately 68 charitable clinics that serve the DFW community, and we hope to create positive relationships that help clinics fulfill their missions and allow medical students to hone their newly acquired medical skills. Our goal is to serve these clinics by providing them with medical student volunteers, and in so doing create more clinical volunteer opportunities for the students of UT Southwestern Medical School.

Josephine Jung josephine.jung@utsouthwestern.edu
Robert Sibley robert.sibley@utsouthwestern.edu

DFW Hep B Free Project

The Dallas Forth Worth Hepatitis B Free Project aims to increase awareness of hepatitis B virus (HBV) and reduce the prevalence of undiagnosed, chronic HBV infection and susceptibility among Asian/Pacific Islander (API) adults in the D-FW Metroplex through education, free screenings, follow-up, and provision of treatment resources to the API population.

Jeffrey Dinh jeffrey.dinh@utsouthwestern.edu
Tresa Zacharias tresa.zacharias@utsouthwestern.edu

Families in Training for Health (FIT)

FIT for Health is a student-run childhood obesity intervention program that guides at-risk families selected by the Irving ISD through lessons in nutrition and physical activity for eight weeks at the Irving YMCA. Students work closely with the recruited families as they learn about healthy behaviors and make needed lifestyle changes. The program runs in the fall, spring, and summer. Opportunities for involvement include teaching children, teaching parents, and a variety of committee positions. Contact info@fitforhealth.org or the student contacts for more information.

Jared Morphew jared.morphew@utsouthwestern.edu
Samantha Sirignano samantha.sirignano@utsouthwestern.edu

Return to Top

HOPE Notes

HOPE Notes, founded in spring 2013, works to brighten patients' stays at hospitals on our campus. Our patients more often than not have no social support for their chronic and debilitating illnesses. It can get depressing to be in a hospital room with no visitors, and so HOPE Notes was created to provide a solution. We are a group of students who create artwork, photographs, encouraging cards, etc., and distribute them to patients in the hospitals. We also make them available to fellow students, faculty, and other professionals in the hospitals who wish to do the same. We will have meetings to make cards and also do any work we would like on our own time. These notes will be available at the various HOPE boxes on campus for anyone to pick up and distribute. HOPE Notes was named to rhyme with SOAP Notes, the patient summaries that doctors and medical students write up. HOPE stand for Humor, Optimism, Perspective, and Empathy - offering all of which is the goal of our work!

Candice Komachi candice.komachi@utsouthwestern.edu
Jackie Saxton jacquelyn.saxton@utsouthwestern.edu

Immunization Initiative at NDSM (Immini)

Founded in fall 2012, IMMINI is an organization dedicated to promoting the practice of immunization and providing such services to the underserved through partnership with North Dallas Shared Ministries (NDSM).

Cole Erickson cole.erickson@utsouthwestern.edu
Melanie Evans melanie.evans@utsouthwestern.edu

Return to Top

Monday Clinic

The mission of The Monday Clinic is to provide high-quality free medical care to the underserved population of North Dallas regardless of race, ethnicity, gender, or ability to pay; to provide an interactive learning environment for medical students, thereby allowing them to develop clinical, organizational, and leadership skills; to instill in students a lifelong commitment of service to the community and others in need; and to introduce medical students to the needs of the uninsured.

Derek Nguyen derek.nguyen@utsouthwestern.edu
Caroline Smith caroline.smith@utsouthwestern.edu

Monday Psychiatry Clinic

Founded in fall 2011, the mission of the Mental Health Screening Project is to provide quality mental health screenings for the patients at the Monday Clinic. We also give medical students the opportunity to become more comfortable taking a psychiatric history by volunteering as a MS1/MS2 and a MS3/MS4.

Ian Walker  ian.walker@utsouthwestern.edu 
Dina Yangirova dinara.yangirova@utsouthwestern.edu 

No One Dies Alone (NODA)

The No One Dies Alone program was founded in 2001 by Sandra Clarke, an ICU nurse at Sacred Heart Medical Center in Eugene, Oregon. In 2011 Evan Ross, John Matt Hancock, and Mark Yurewicz started the UT Southwestern chapter of NODA in one wing of the hospital. Under their direction and with the help of medical student volunteers, it has since expanded to serve all of Parkland. The goal of the No One Dies Alone Program is just that - to provide a human presence in hospital rooms for patients with no friends or relatives to share their final moments. For a typical vigil, nursing staff identifies a patient who is expected to die imminently and is not accompanied by family or friends. The nurse will obtain consent from the patient if possible, or will make the decision as the patient's advocate. Unit staff will page the on-call NODA coordinator who will activate the NODA system and alert NODA volunteers. 

NODA has operated as a branch of the Palliative Care Interest Group in the past, but is now a separate and independently run student organization. For more information about us and the process of sitting a vigil as a volunteer, please visit our information page on the PCIG website.

Kathryn Child kathryn.child@utsouthwestern.edu
Debbie Saddington debbie.saddington@utsouthwestern.edu

Return to Top

Office of Global Health Agape Clinic

Student-run night clinic at Agape Clinic in east Dallas sponsored by the Office of Global Health. Students take health histories, perform physical exams and present to the specialist seeing patients that night. Clinic is held every other Wednesday 6:30 - 9:00pm. Priority is given to students who have taken or are enrolled in the Global Health elective.

Kathryn Child kathryn.child@utsouthwestern.edu
Seja Abudiab seja.abudiab@utsouthwestern.edu

Return to Top

The Patient's Library

Founded in 2012, The Patients Library seeks to provide books, magazines, art materials, and audiobooks to patients at Parkland Memorial Hospital. The goals of this project are to prevent loneliness and boredom in chronically hospitalized patients, promote literacy, and encourage quality interaction between patients and students/hospital staff. The project is still in its infancy, so right now the focus is on fundraising, book drives, and promotion.

Benjamin Shields benjamin.shields@utsouthwestern.edu
Ashish Singh ashish.singhs@utsouthwestern.edu

Refuge Guatemala

Founded in summer 2012, Refuge Guatemala is a student organization dedicated to providing healthcare to the population of rural Guatemala that would otherwise find it inaccessible or unaffordable. The organization will send a team of students and faculty on a spring break trip to work in a small, understaffed Guatemalan hospital. The team will work along with hospital staff to perform surgeries and provide care in a clinical setting to the local indigent population. Participating students will receive invaluable medical experience, exposure to the local Hispanic and Mayan cultures, and hopefully have their eyes opened to the joys of international medical service.

Charles Herrin charles.herrin@utsouthwestern.edu
Bethany Richards bethany.richards@utsouthwestern.edu

Remedy

REMEDY at UT Southwestern was founded by the Alpha Omega Alpha members of the class of 2010. The organization is dedicated to actively promoting the recovery of unused medical supplies for the purpose of global aid, waste reduction, and cost effectiveness.

Kristin D'Silva kristin.dsilva@utsouthwestern.edu
Susan Wu susan.wu@utsouthwestern.edu

Sierra Leone Education Enrichment Program (SLEEP)

The Sierra Leone Educational Enrichment Project (SLEEP) is a not-for-profit corporation (501(c)3) incorporated in New York and based out of Harvard, Duke, USC, and recently UTSW, which focuses on improving primary, secondary, and post-secondary education in Sierra Leone, one of the poorest countries on Earth (GDP per capita). SLEEP at UTSW is working to build the only library at the only medicine and sciences school in Sierra Leone, where the most recent documents date to 1987. We are looking for donations of textbooks, journals, CDs, DVDs, and other relevant medical and science materials that can help train doctors in Sierra Leone. Be a part of our collection programs here on campus! Together, let's help make Sierra Leone's dream of a better tomorrow come true.

Assiatu Barrie assiatu.barrie@utsouthwestern.edu
Vincent Chau vincent.chau@utsouthwestern.edu

STD Lectures

The Sexually Transmitted Diseases (STD) Lectures Organization, a function of the Texas Medical Association, is a group composed of medical students, health professionals, and graduate students committed to providing educational presentations on STDs in Dallas-area middle and high schools. Our goal is to supply students with the information they need to protect themselves in order to prevent the spread of STDs in Dallas schools and communities. 

Olivia Belli olivia.belli@utsouthwestern.edu
Elaine Nguyen elaine.nguyen@utsouthwestern.edu

Return to Top

Ti Pa Ti Pa – Haiti Service Trip

Ti Pa Ti Pa (Step by step) is a student organization dedicated to improving the healthcare of the Haitian communities in and around Verrettes, Haiti. We send students during the week of spring break on a mission trip with our host organization Medical Student Missions to rural Verrettes where they will work in mobile and local clinics examining and presenting patients to supervising physicians. The students will be fortifying their skills of history taking, SOAP note style presentations, and performing full physicals. They will also get a chance to experience the ways of a culture different from ours and be exposed to medical conditions that one might never have the opportunity of encountering in the US. In addition, during the year, the organization will be fundraising. The latter includes the famous annual date auction, as well as Haitian art and coffee sales.

David Willcutts david.willcutts@utsouthwestern.edu
Zachary Cardon zachary.cardon@utsouthwestern.edu

Union Gospel Mission Clinics (UGM)

Started as a student organization in the fall 2013 to provide services for the mission of the Union Gospel Mission (UGM) clinics. These clinics serve the homeless by treating them at the three free weekly medical clinics located at Calvert Place (a men’s shelter) or at the Center of Hope (a women’s and children’s shelter). Medical Students, residents, PA students and other volunteers come together to accomplish this goal.

Uzo Ukoha uzoamaka.koha@utsouthwestern.edu
Andrew Plummer andrew.plummer@utsouthwestern.edu

United to Serve

Each year, UT Southwestern holds a health fair benefiting students and their families in the surrounding community. This United to Serve event, which has been held at T.J. Rusk Middle School, is geared toward bringing awareness of important medical health issues to the community. Activities include medical health screenings, presentations, and demonstrations about important health issues, fun activities for the kids, and more. The event is conducted as part of the UT System's United to Serve campaign, in which all UT System schools participate in a single day of service.

Kristen Carter kristen.carter@utsouthwestern.edu

Return to Top