Religious Organizations

Catholic Society of St. Basil the Great

Founded in 2008, the St. Basil Society sponsors academic discussions, volunteer service projects, social gatherings, and religious events. Our most popular events are the twice monthly Tuesday lunch meetings, in which a speaker discusses anything from bioethics to history, theology to literature. Although some events are particularly Catholic-Christian in focus, all students and faculty are invited. Our patron is St. Basil the Great, who established the world's first public hospital. Visit our website or Facebook page for more information. 

Romero Santiago romero.santiago@utsouthwestern.edu
Joseph Vento joseph.vento@utsouthwestern.edu

Christian Students

Christian Students, founded in 1992, is a group of believers in Christ from various backgrounds who love the Lord Jesus Christ and find great joy and purpose in pursuing Him. God’s word charges us to “pursue righteousness, faith, love, peace, with those who call on the Lord out of a pure heart” (2 Timothy 2:22b). The members of the Christian Students club hold the faith that is common to all believers (Titus 1:4; Jude 3).

Ning Zhang ning.zhang@utsouthwestern.edu
John Han john.han@utsouthwestern.edu

Jewish Student Association

The Jewish Student Association is open to all students, faculty and staff at the University who seek a Jewish experience while at UT Southwestern Medical Center. The JSA explores cultural, religious, social, and even the fun and funny aspects of Judaism as it connects with health and science students and professionals.

Andrew Pansick andrew.pansick@utsouthwestern.edu
Heather Krol heather.krol@utsouthwestern.edu

Latter-day Saint Student Association (LDSSA)

The LDSSA is an organization consisting primarily of members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. The group host weekly Institute of Religion classes, providing an opportunity for spiritually learning, uplift, and fellowship. It also welcomes those who are not members of the Church of Jesus Christ to join.

Nathaniel Oswald nathaniel.oswald@utsouthwestern.edu
Curtis Allred curtis.allred@utsouthwestern.edu

Southwestern Christian Fellowship

The Southwestern Christian fellowship (SCF) is an organization co-sponsored by the Baptist Student Ministry (BSM) and the Christian Medical/Dental Association (CMDA). Together, they help SCF meet the spiritual needs of Christian students at UT Southwestern. There are several weekly activities, most notably, the Christian Fellowship Luncheon every Monday at noon. At the luncheon food is provided and speakers range from ministers and seminary students to physicians on the faculty. Additionally, the fellowship offers several weekly Bible studies and praise and volunteer opportunities to serve the disadvantaged in the Dallas area. The group’s big event is a spring break medical mission trip to Laredo and El Paso, on which medical students as well as PA and PT students, nurses, physicians, and translators go to missionary clinics in an effort to serve these medically needy people and to witness about Christ.

Conner Smith conner.smith@utsouthwestern.edu
Scott Gorthey scott.gorthey@utsouthwestern.edu

Student Bible Study Group

Our primary purpose is to discover and apply the teachings from the holy Bible through studies and discussions. Friendship and fellowship are built through interaction among members.

Yajuan Li yajuan.li@utsouthwestern.edu
Huanyu Zhou huanyu.zhou@utsouthwestern.edu