Recreational Organizations

Badminton Club

This club is a student organization dedicated to promoting the sport of badminton, developing members' skills, and providing a competitive and fun playing environment. We welcome students, faculty, and staff players of all skill levels. The goal of the club is to bring together all badminton players at UT Southwestern Medical Center by offering a healthy environment for competitive badminton and to clear the misconception of badminton as a typical "American backyard game." Our club meets 4–8 p.m. Saturdays at the Student Center.

Che Xu che.xu@utsouthwestern.edu
Qiang Cheng qiang.cheng@utsouthwestern.edu

Bike Club

The club organizes bicycle rides around Dallas for students, staff, and faculty members who are interested in biking. All types of riders are welcome. Members will be encouraged to participate in local rides (e.g. Tour de Dallas). The club promotes biking as a means to exercise, a way to stay active, and as a mode of transportation.

George Wendt george.wendt@utsouthwestern.edu
Theresa Pohikamp Theresa.Pohlkamp@utsouthwestern.edu

Community Garden Club

Sharon Sun Sharon.Sun@utsouthwestern.edu
Sabhi Gull Sabhi.Gull@utsouthwestern.edu

Dartos Soccer Club

Dartos is the UT Southwestern men’s soccer team. In the fall and spring, we play in the 3rd division of the North Texas Premier Soccer Association. Commitment is limited to weekly games on Sunday mornings and afternoons. In the offseason we play indoor (sometimes). The team comprises fun-loving and competitive students. Tryouts are hosted in the first week of classes.

Jonathan Harder jonathan.harder@utsouthwestern.edu
David Cho david.cho@utsouthwestern.edu

Taekwondo

Taekwondo is a Korean martial art known for its rapid kicking techniques and is one of the most popular martial arts in the world, spanning over 100 countries with over 30 million practitioners. At UT Southwestern, classes are held every week in the Bryan Williams, M.D. Student Center’s multipurpose room, and beginners are more than encouraged to join! No prior martial arts experience is needed! Our classes are great opportunities to get a good workout and to meet new people. Safety will always take priority, and you are always welcome to just come and watch.

Dustin Le dustin.le@utsouthwestern.edu
Larry Huynh Larry.Huynha@utsouthwestern.edu