MSTP Ph.D./Thesis Years Students

Olusoji (Yemi) Afuwape

University of Illinois, Chicago
Neuroscience Graduate Program
Research Interest: Elucidating specific functions of dynamin isoforms in synaptic vesicle endocytosis
Mentor: Ege Kavalali, Ph.D.
Olusoji.afuwape@utsouthwestern.edu

Miles Black

Miles Black

Washington University‚Ä®
Graduate Years
miles.black@utsouthwestern.edu

Paul Blazek

Paul Blazek

University of Pennsylvania
Graduate Years
paul.blazek@utsouthwestern.edu

Elise Burger

Elise Burger

Occidental College
Immunology Graduate Program
Research Interest: Mucosal immunology, host-pathogen interactions
Mentor: Felix Yarovinsky, M.D.
elise.burger@utsouthwestern.edu

Philip Cheng

Philip Cheng

University of North Carolina
Integrative Biology Graduate Program
Research Interest: Investigating the potential role the cytosolic DNA sensor cGAS plays in SLE
Mentor: Zhijian Chen, Ph.D.
philip.cheng@utsouthwestern.edu

Edward Daniel

Harvard University
Genetics and Development Graduate Program
Mentor: Ondine Cleaver, Ph.D.
Research Interest: Defining endothelial cell heterogeneity for de novo nephron generation.
edward.daniel@utsouthwestern.edu" style="font-size: 12.0012px; line-height: 1.5;

Pamela De La Cruz

UPR Rio Piedras
Molecular Microbiology
Mentor: John Schoggins, Ph.D.
Research Interest: Studying the antiviral response in bats
pamela.delacruzrivera@utsouthwestern.edu" style="font-size: 12.0012px; line-height: 1.5;

Nathan Egge

Nathan Egge

University of Washington
Graduate Years
nathan.egge@utsouthwestern.edu

Miles Fontenot

Miles Fontenot

University of Texas, Austin
Research Interest: The transcriptional networks underlying cognitive function
Mentor: Genevieve Konopka, Ph.D.
miles.fontenot@utsouthwestern.edu

Alexandra Ghaben

Alexandra Ghaben

MIT
Graduate Years
alexandra.ghaben@utsouthwestern.edu

Kyle Goodman

Kyle Goodman

North Carolina State University
Graduate Years
kyle.goodman@utsouthwestern.edu

Robert Harris

Robert Harris

Baylor University
Graduate Years
robert.harris@utsouthwestern.edu

Harris Khan

Haaris Khan

Clemson University
Graduate Years

Ryan Hunter

Ryan Hunter

Abilene Christian University
Graduate School
Research Interest: Regulation of miRNAs in cancer
Mentor: Josh Mendell, M.D., Ph.D.
ryan.hunter@utsouthwestern.edu

Xuexia Jiang

Xuexia Jiang

Carnegie Mellon University
Graduate Years
xuexia.jiang@utsouthwestern.edu

Joshua Johnson

Joshua Johnson

University of Michigan
Integrative Biology
Mentor: William Holland, Ph.D.
Research Interest: Ceramides in central body weight regulation
joshua.johnson@utsouthwestern.edu" style="font-size: 12.0012px; line-height: 1.5;

Demetra Kelenis

University Texas-Austin
Graduate Years



Tae Kim

Tae Kim

Swarthmore College
Graduate Years
tae.kim@utsouthwestern.edu

Aloysus Lawong

Aloysus Lawong

Cleveland State University
Graduate Years
aloysus.lawong@utsouthwestern.edu

Steven Li

Stephen Li

McGill University
Graduate Years
stephen.li@utsouthwestern.edu

Nikhil Madhusudhan

Nikhil Madhusudhan

Boston University
Graduate Years
nikhil.madhusudhan@utsouthwestern.edu

William McAlpine

William McAlpine

Clemson University
Integrative Biology
Mentor: Bruce Beutler, M.D.
Research Interest: Using forward genetics to find novel genes involved in intestinal homeostasis
william.mcalpine@utsouthwestern.edu" style="font-size: 12.0012px; line-height: 1.5;

Magid S. Mohamed

York College, City University of New York
Graduate Years
magid.mohamed@utsouthwestern.edu

Ashwathi Mohan

Ashwathi Mohan

Texas A&M University
Graduate Years
ashwathi.mohan@utsouthwestern.edu

James Ortega

James Ortega

Florida International University
Graduate Years
james.ortega@utsouthwestern.edu

Brianne Pierce

Brianne Pierce

Kansas State University
Graduate Years
brianne.pierce@utsouthwestern.edu

Emile Pinarbasi

Emile Pinarbasi

University of California, Berkeley
Graduate School
Research Interest: RNA-binding proteins and neurodegeneration
emile.pinarbasi@utsouthwestern.edu

Shunsuke Sakurai

Shunsuke Sakurai

Dartmouth College
Graduate School
Mentor: Joyce Repa, Ph.D.
shunsuke.sakurai@utsouthwestern.edu

Kevin Shi

Kevin Shi

Duke University
Biological Chemistry Graduate Program
Research Interest: Structural studies of proteins containing low complexity domains 
Mentor: Steve McKnight, Ph.D.
kevin.shi@utsouthwestern.edu

Tabitha Ting

University of Colorado, Denver
Mentor: Beth Levine, M.D.
Research Interest: The role of autophagy in diseases associated with the Na,K-ATPase
tabitha.ting@utsouthwestern.edu" style="font-size: 12.0012px; line-height: 1.5;

Nicole Varnado

University of Texas, Austin
Integrative Biology Graduate Program
Research Interest: Understanding regulation of the cGAS-cGAMP-STING pathway for cytosolic DNA sensing
Mentor: Zhijian Chen, Ph.D.
nicole.varnado@utsouthwestern.edu

Jenny Weon

Jenny Weon

University of Texas, Austin
Integrative Biology Graduate Program
Research Interest: Identifying the physiological function of MAGE proteins and their potential role in the development of lung cancer.
Mentor: Ryan Potts, Ph.D.
jenny.weon@utsouthwestern.edu

George Wendt

George Wendt

University of Michigan
Graduate Years
george.wendt@utsouthwestern.edu

Terry Wu

Duke University
NIH Graduate Partners Program
Mentor: Meltzer (NIH)
tianyi.wu@utsouthwestern.edu

Stacy Yuan

Pomona College
Cancer Biology
Mentor: Sean Morrison, Ph.D.
Research Interest: Looking at ion channels and transporters as potential therapeutic targets in melanoma
stacy.yuan@utsouthwestern.edu" style="font-size: 12.0012px; line-height: 1.5;

Laura Yuan

Laura Yuan

University of Texas, Dallas
Cancer Biology Graduate Program
Research Interest: Elucidating biological functions and mechanisms of telomerase alternative splicing in lung cancer
Mentors: Jerry Shay, Ph.D. and Woodring Wright, M.D., Ph.D.
laura.yuan@utsouthwestern.edu

Return to Top