"/> ">

MSTP Ph.D./Thesis Years Students

Miles Black

Miles Black

Washington University
Cell and Molecular Biology Graduate Program 
Research Interest: Secreted Mammalian ADP-Ribosyltransferases
Mentor: Vincent Tabliabracci, Ph.D.
miles.black@utsouthwestern.edu

Paul Blazek

Paul Blazek

University of Pennsylvania
Molecular Biophysics Graduate Program
Research Interest: Computational understanding of biological neural network search in connectivity space
Mentor: Milo Lin, Ph.D.  
paul.blazek@utsouthwestern.edu

Alberto Enriquez

Alberto Bremauntz Enriquez 

Rice University
Cancer Biology Graduate Program
Mentor: David McFadden, M.D., Ph.D.  
Alberto.Enriquez@UTSouthwestern.edu

Luming Chen

Luming Chen

Yale University
Cell and Molecular Biology Graduate Program
Mentor: Kim Orth, Ph.D.   
Luming.Chen@UTSouthwestern.edu

Andrew Chung

Andrew Chung

UCLA
Genetics and Development Graduate Program
Research Interest: Genetic aberrations that drive hepatocellular carcinoma
Mentor: Hao Zhu, M.D.
Andrew.Chung@UTSouthwestern.edu

Edward Daniel

Harvard University
Genetics and Development Graduate Program
Research Interest: Defining endothelial cell heterogeneity for de novo nephron generation
Mentor: Ondine Cleaver, Ph.D.
edward.daniel@utsouthwestern.edu

Pamela De La Cruz

UPR Rio Piedras
Molecular Microbiology Graduate Program
Research Interest: Studying the antiviral response in bats
Mentor: John Schoggins, Ph.D.
pamela.delacruzrivera@utsouthwestern.edu

Brianne Pierce

Brianne Dentel

Kansas State University
Neuroscience Graduate Program
Research Interest: Studying regulators of the mTOR pathway in mouse epilepsy and autism models to find the molecular mechanisms behind these diseases
Mentor: Peter.Tsai@UTSouthwestern.edu
brianne.pierce@utsouthwestern.edu

Jordan Driskill

Jordan Driskill

University of Pennsylvania 
Genetics and Development Graduate Program 
Research Interest: Hippo pathway in microorganisms and cancer 
Mentor: Duojia Pan, Ph.D.
Jordan.Driskill@UTSouthwestern.edu

Nathan Egge

Nathan Egge

University of Washington
Molecular Biophysics Graduate Program
Research Interest: Cellular responses to mechanical stress, neurodegeneration
Mentor: Peter Douglas, Ph.D.  
nathan.egge@utsouthwestern.edu

Alexandra Ghaben

Alexandra Ghaben

MIT
Integrative Biology Graduate Program 
Mentor: Philipp Scherer, Ph.D.
alexandra.ghaben@utsouthwestern.edu

Kyle Goodman

Kyle Goodman

North Carolina State University
Cell and Molecular Biology Graduate Program
Research Interest: Function and biochemical activation of MAPKs in Toxoplasma gondii
Mentor: Michael Reese, Ph.D.
kyle.goodman@utsouthwestern.edu

Robert Harris

Robert Harris

Baylor University
Genetics and Development Graduate Program
Mentor: Ralph Deberardinis, M.D., Ph.D.
robert.harris@utsouthwestern.edu

Eric Hsu

Eric Hsu

Washington University 
Immunology Graduate Program
Mentor: Yang-Xin Fu, M.D., Ph.D.
Eric.Hsu@UTSouthwestern.edu

Ryan Hunter

Ryan Hunter

Abilene Christian University
Genetics and Development Graduate Program
Research Interest: Regulation of miRNAs in cancer
Mentor: Josh Mendell, M.D., Ph.D.
ryan.hunter@utsouthwestern.edu

Xuexia Jiang

Xuexia Jiang

Carnegie Mellon University
Cell and Molecular Biology Graduate Program
Mentor: Gaudenz Danuser, Ph.D.
xuexia.jiang@utsouthwestern.edu

Demetra Kelenis

Demetra Kelenis

University Texas-Austin
Cancer Biology Graduate Program
Research Interest: The role of developmental transcription factors in glioblastoma
Mentor: Jane Johnson, Ph.D. 
demetra.kelenis@utsouthwestern.edu

Harris Khan

Haaris Khan

Clemson University
Immunology Graduate Program
Research Interest: Understanding the role of M cells in Mycobacterium tuberculosis infection
Mentor: Michael Shiloh, M.D., Ph.D. 
haaris.khan@utsouthwestern.edu

Tae Kim

Tae Kim

Swarthmore College
Molecular Biophysics Graduate Program
Mentor: Luke Rice, Ph.D.
tae.kim@utsouthwestern.edu

Mark Landy

Mark Landy

Cornell University
Neuroscience Graduate Program
Mentor: Helen Lai, Ph.D.
Mark.Landy@UTSouthwestern.edu

Aloysus Lawong

Aloysus Lawong

Cleveland State University
Biological Chemistry Graduate Program 
Research Interest: Natural product drug discovery in Plasmodium falciparum
Mentor: Margaret Phillips, Ph.D.
aloysus.lawong@utsouthwestern.edu

Steven Li

Stephen Li

McGill University
Genetics and Development Graduate Program
Mentor: Eric Olson, Ph.D.
stephen.li@utsouthwestern.edu

Nikhil Madhusudhan

Nikhil Madhusudhan

Boston University
Biological Chemistry Graduate Program
Research Interest: Small molecule target identification
Mentor: Deepak Nijhawan, M.D., Ph.D.
nikhil.madhusudhan@utsouthwestern.edu

William McAlpine

William McAlpine

Clemson University
Integrative Biology Graduate Program
Research Interest: Using forward genetics to find novel genes involved in intestinal homeostasis
Mentor: Bruce Beutler, M.D.
william.mcalpine@utsouthwestern.edu

Magid S. Mohamed

York College, City University of New York
Integrative Biology Graduate Program
Research Interest: Transcriptional regulation of heart development and regeneration 
Mentor: Nikhil Munshi, M.D., Ph.D.
magid.mohamed@utsouthwestern.edu

Ashwathi Mohan

Ashwathi Mohan

Texas A&M University
Cancer Biology Graduate Program
Mentor: Gaudenz Danuser, Ph.D.
ashwathi.mohan@utsouthwestern.edu

Hande Piristine

Hande Piristine

Wellesley
Integrative Biology Graduate Program
Research Interest: Regulation of autophagic flux in heart failure 
Mentor: Joe Hill, M.D., Ph.D.
Hande.Piristine@UTSouthwestern.edu

Casey Timmerman

Casey Timmerman

UT Austin 
Graduate School 
Mentor: Yang-Xin Fu, M.D., Ph.D.
Casey.Timmerman@UTSouthwestern.edu

Tabitha Ting

University of Colorado, Denver
Integrative Biology Graduate Program
Research Interest: The role of autophagy in diseases associated with the Na,K-ATPase
Mentor: Beth Levine, M.D.
tabitha.ting@utsouthwestern.edu 

George Wendt

George Wendt

University of Michigan 
Cell and Molecular Biology Graduate Program
Research Interest: Parasitology, stem cells, developmental biology 
Mentor: James Collins, Ph.D.  
George.Wendt@UTSouthwestern.edu

Byron Weiss

Byron Weiss

Columbia University 
Graduate School
Mentor: Gaudenz Danuser, Ph.D.
Byron.Weiss@UTSouthwestern.edu

Terry Wu

Duke University
NIH Graduate Partners Program
Mentor: Meltzer (NIH)
tianyi.wu@utsouthwestern.edu

Stacy Yuan

Pomona College
Cancer Biology Graduate Program
Research Interest: Looking at ion channels and transporters as potential therapeutic targets in melanoma
Mentor: Sean Morrison, Ph.D.
stacy.yuan@utsouthwestern.edu