HEAL Curriculum and Dates

HEAL
Aeisha Rivers, M.D., Assistant Professor of Surgery, and Ava Pierce, M.D., Associate Professor of Surgery.  Both are faculty liaisons in HEAL for African-Americans.

Each month, discussion focuses on a different professional development theme. Many of the themes have been identified by residents as topics helpful for professional development.

2014-2015 Sessions and Topics

African-American

Medical professionals
Olutoyosi Ogunkua, M.D., (left) second-year resident in Anesthesiology, and Razaq Badamosi, M.D., Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine.
  • Tuesday, September 23, 2014
    Surviving and Thriving in Residency and Beyond 
  • Tuesday, October 28, 2014
    Fatigue Management in Duty Hours 
  • Tuesday, November 18, 2014
    Communicating with Impact! 
  • Tuesday, December 16, 2014
    Acing an Interview 
  • Tuesday, January 27, 2015
    Cultural Competency in an Academic Environment 
  • Tuesday, February 24, 2015
    Preparing to be a Resident Leader 
  • Tuesday, March 24, 2015
    Must Know Financial Concepts – The Four Essentials for Housestaff 
  • Tuesday, April 28, 2015
    Negotiating Effectively 
  • Tuesday, May 26, 2015
    Recognizing and Utilizing Leadership Styles 

Hispanic

HEAL for Hispanics
HEAL for Hispanics
  • Tuesday, September 16, 2014
    Surviving and Thriving in Residency and Beyond 
  • Tuesday, October 21, 2014
    Fatigue Management in Duty Hours 
  • Tuesday, November 11, 2014
    Communicating with Impact! 
  • Tuesday, December 2, 2014
    Acing an Interview 
  • Tuesday, January 20, 2015
    Cultural Competency in an Academic Environment 
  • Tuesday, February 17, 2015
    Preparing to be a Resident Leader 
  • Tuesday, March 17, 2015
    Must Know Financial Concepts – The Four Essentials for Housestaff 
  • Tuesday, April 21, 2015
    Negotiating Effectively 
  • Tuesday, May 19, 2015
    Recognizing and Utilizing Leadership Styles 

Women

  • Wednesday, September 17, 2014 (open to women in Internal Medicine only)
    Negotiations 
  • Tuesday, November 4, 2014 (all women)
    Negotiations 
  • Thursday, February 19, 2015 (open to women in Internal Medicine only)
    Communicating with Impact! 
  • Tuesday, April 7, 2015 (all women)
    Communicating with Impact!