HEAL Curriculum and Dates

HEAL
Aeisha Rivers, M.D., Assistant Professor of Surgery, and Ava Pierce, M.D., Associate Professor of Surgery.  Both are faculty liaisons in HEAL for African-Americans.

Each month, discussion focuses on a different professional development theme. Many of the themes have been identified by residents as topics helpful for professional development.

2014-2015 Sessions and Topics

African-Americans & Hispanics

Medical professionals
Olutoyosi Ogunkua, M.D., (left) second-year resident in Anesthesiology, and Razaq Badamosi, M.D., Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine.
  • Tuesday, September 23, 2014
    Surviving and thriving in residency and beyond
  • Tuesday, October 28, 2014
    Fatigue management in duty hours 
  • Tuesday, November 18, 2014
    Communicating with impact!
  • Tuesday, December 16, 2014
    Acing an Interview
  • Tuesday, January 27, 2015
    Cultural competency in an academic environment
  • Tuesday, February 24, 2015
    Preparing to be a resident leader
    HEAL for Hispanics
    HEAL for Hispanics
  • Tuesday, March 24, 2015
    Must know financial concepts – The four essentials for house staff
  • Tuesday, April 28, 2015
    Negotiating effectively
  • Tuesday, May 26, 2015
    Recognizing and utilizing leadership styles

Women

  • Wednesday, September 17, 2014 (open to women in Internal Medicine only)
    Negotiations 
  • Tuesday, November 4, 2014 (all women)
    Negotiations 
  • Wednesday, February 18, 2015 (open to women in Internal Medicine only)
    Communicating with impact! 
  • Tuesday, April 7, 2015 (all women)
    Communicating with impact!