Rutherford named to endowed chair

Dr. John Rutherford, vice president for clinical operations, has been named the second holder of the Jonsson-Rogers Chair in Cardiology in honor of J. Erik Jonsson and Ralph B. Rogers.

"These men both provided exemplary leadership, optimism, persistence and citizenship," Dr. Rutherford said. "To hold a chair named after them is a great privilege."

In addition to their success in the business world, Mr. Jonsson, a former Dallas mayor and founder of Texas Instruments, and Mr. Rogers, who created and saved the Public Broadcasting System, were both admirable civic leaders, Dr. Rutherford said.

Dr. Rutherford, who directs the UT Southwestern's Clinical Services Initiative, said, "Our goal is to achieve a level of patient care and service at UT Southwestern that we would be proud to receive for our families, friends and ourselves and that matches our excellence in research and teaching."

He received his medical degree in New Zealand and was a member of the faculty at Harvard Medical School before joining UT Southwestern in 1993. He was named vice president for clinical operations in 2001.