Newsmakers — Drs. Fowler, Suter

Two members of the emergency medicine faculty, Dr. Raymond L. Fowler and Dr. Robert E. Suter, received awards in January at the National Association of EMS Physicians (NAEMSP) annual meeting in Florida.

Dr. Fowler, associate professor of surgery, received the Keith Neely Outstanding Contribution to EMS Award for his life-long achievements to the founding and growth of the NAEMSP.

Dr. Fowler was a co-founder of the association and its second president. He helped oversee the organization's growth and was instrumental in the creation of its textbook, "Prehospital Systems and Medical Oversight."

Dr. Fowler, deputy EMS medical director for the EMS System of Dallas, has been on the UT Southwestern faculty since 2001.

Dr. Suter, clinical associate professor of surgery, received the Continuing Education Coordinating Board for Emergency Medical Services (CECBEMS) Award for outstanding contributions to the education of EMS providers nationally. The CECBEMS is the national accrediting body for EMS continuing education courses and course providers.

Dr. Suter, a former paramedic, was recently elected the national president of the American College of Emergency Physicians. Dr. Suter has been with UT Southwestern since 2002.