Newsmakers — Dr. Lynne M. Kirk

Dr. Lynne M. Kirk will become president-elect of the American College of Physicians at its annual business meeting April 16 in San Francisco and will take office as president in April 2006.

She will be the second doctor from UT Southwestern to serve in this capacity. Dr. Willis Maddrey served as president in 1993.

Dr. Kirk is associate dean for graduate medical education, associate chief of the division of general internal medicine and professor of family and community medicine. She holds the Tim and Toni Hartman Professorship in Medicine.